Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 9, 2011 / 9 Menachem-Av, 5771

No ‘tidy bow’ on story of woman who had affair with married man

By Betsy Hart



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It's long been time to touch base again with Casey.

When I first wrote about her in February 2010, the young woman was in the throes of an affair with a married man in a different city. She had been openly talking about it on the air as a radio personality. When I interviewed her privately, she was transparent with me and her brave front disappeared. She was simply scared of losing him.

Late last summer, we talked again. Much to my surprise -- I wrote at the time I was "gob-smacked" -- he had indeed left his wife (whom Casey believes had no knowledge of the affair) and a more confident Casey was moving to his city to be with him. She told me she expected they would date for a while "in the open" and then get married.

All along, her vulnerability has allowed me to feel compassion for Casey the person, not just legitimate anger at her and her once-married paramour.

So it was again this time. When she agreed to speak with me recently, I assumed it was because she and the now-single boyfriend were on a smooth path. I couldn't imagine otherwise, because who wants to give anyone the opportunity to say or even think, "I told you so"?

I was surprised again. Her first words to me: "Well, he cheated on me." She said things had been lovely on the road trip together back to his city. Then there was more distance, they grew further apart and, finally, she heard from a mutual acquaintance who did not know that he and Casey were involved that he had a new girlfriend. And it sure wasn't Casey. She confronted him, he denied it, she figured out it was true, and she ended it.

Casey was devastated.

What a roller coaster. I felt it, too, because, as regular readers know, this history hits close to home for me. I admit for purely personal reasons that I wasn't really looking forward to speaking with Casey again. I didn't want to listen to how it had somehow all "worked out."

Well, I didn't have to. And yet I find myself liking Casey. So without in any way minimizing her complicity in the affair, I can certainly be glad for her sake that she is rid of the guy at last. None of this means I'm suspending all (appropriate) judgment, by the way. It's just that one can be truly sorry that another is caught up in sin, you know.

Casey told me, "I know this is hypocritical to say, but he violated my trust." Yet, "of course he did" is not how Casey sees it. She claims that he wasn't destined to cheat just because of how their affair started. But he did, and she even told me she is resolved never to get involved with a married man again.

Still, this story doesn't have a neat little bow on top of it, either. I wanted that at this point. I wanted to hear, "I so regret it all/what was I thinking/I'm repentant." In our first conversation, Casey referred to having moral "blood" on her hands as a result of the affair. But she almost seemed further from that sensibility now. She told me she is not proud of her actions, but ultimately she does not regret the relationship.

Like I said, no tidy bow here. At least, not yet. Life is like that sometimes.

Meanwhile, Casey is involved with a new man, who is single. They are moving in together in a few weeks. She's told him about her affair. He is not happy about it, but believes she won't do it again. She thinks they will get married. I think in many ways Casey is still on a roller coaster, just a different one.

I will continue sharing Casey's story as long as she continues sharing it with me. And, I admit, I'll keep hoping for that tidy bow for her sake.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Betsy Hart, a frequent commentator on CNN and the Fox News Channel, can be reached by clicking here.

BUY BETSY'S BOOK
"It Takes a Parent : How the Culture of Pushover Parenting is Hurting Our Kids — and What to Do About It"  

"Hart urges parents to focus...on instilling industry, frugality, sincerity and humility. She encourages parents to reclaim the word "no." Contrary to advice you may have received, you needn't give your child choices, or offer alternatives, or explain to little Suzie why she can't eat eight cookies right before bed-you're the parent, and sometimes you can just say no."

  —   Kirkus Reports

Sales help fund JWR.

Betsy Hart Archives

© 2007, Scripps Howard News Servic

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles