Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 26, 2011 / 24 Tamuz, 5771

A cable calamity

By Betsy Hart



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I waited, fearful and trembling, for my children to return home so I could tell them.

Yep, it was that bad: Our Internet was out of commission, and likely would be for some 40 hours until the cable company could get here to fix it.

Forty hours.

Knowing I would have to face the kids with that news as they walked in was right up there with sharing news of a beloved pet's death. Of course, I begged and pleaded with the cable fellow to somehow get me service sooner. A nice fellow, that cable man. He apparently sensed my panic: "Forty hours?? I've got four kids, pal. I'm a single mom to those four kids. Do you really want to be responsible for what could happen here without an Internet connection to keep them occupied over that span of time? It could get really ugly, friend!"

He promised to include, as he put it, a "begging for service" note on my ticket. Seriously. He got it.

After hanging up, I did what any resilient mom would do. I walked all over the house with my laptop trying to find a hot spot that would pick up a neighbor's Wi-Fi signal. What is it with people so uptight about "locking up" their wireless Internet connections, anyway? Sheesh.

I braced myself for the onslaught.

When it came, it washed over me like waves. One after another. The first, daughter Tori, 14, had her mouth drop to the floor. Her exact words after several seconds: "I won't know about my life until Wednesday?" Her life apparently being Facebook and email.

Daughter Madi, 12, had brought a friend home and apparently felt the need to put her game face on as she received the news. OK, two down. Son Peter, the oldest at 17, literally refused to believe it: "Of course it's working, Mom." Now that's devotion. The last, daughter Livey, 9, simply asked, "Did Madi use it too much?"

Madi is currently the source of all problems in Olivia's life.

But it was Livey who came around the most quickly. "Well, Mom," she said, "this is how old people used to live in olden days. I guess we can just play around like they did for a while." Pause. "Do we still have indoor plumbing?"

Back to figuring things out.

I really don't like to come up against a brick wall. I'm always determined to find the back door. My oven went on the blink recently, constantly beeping when not actually on. I discovered it had to do with a computer chip that there was no way to fix. Replacement? We're talking $660. Morally outraged at the idea of such a thing, I got back at the fancy-pants oven people by getting an inexpensive toaster oven for the little things. For the big ones, the kids are now used to me calling down to the basement, "Honey, can you go to the fuse box and turn the oven on?"

So, I decided to try wrestling with the Internet connection again myself, thinking failure just couldn't be an option.

I pushed and I prodded the various wires, and reset everything for the tenth time. Finally, somehow, there was a flicker of Internet — a teaser, really, before it went out again. I just became more determined. Then, amazingly, it came back on and has now been on for several hours. Problem solved? We'll see.

I know, I know — I have a lot to learn from all this about depending way too much on high-tech. Later. Right now, I'm just trying to figure out how to work into the monthly budget the cost of putting a cable repair guy on retainer.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Betsy Hart, a frequent commentator on CNN and the Fox News Channel, can be reached by clicking here.

BUY BETSY'S BOOK
"It Takes a Parent : How the Culture of Pushover Parenting is Hurting Our Kids — and What to Do About It"  

"Hart urges parents to focus...on instilling industry, frugality, sincerity and humility. She encourages parents to reclaim the word "no." Contrary to advice you may have received, you needn't give your child choices, or offer alternatives, or explain to little Suzie why she can't eat eight cookies right before bed-you're the parent, and sometimes you can just say no."

  —   Kirkus Reports

Sales help fund JWR.

Betsy Hart Archives

© 2007, Scripps Howard News Servic

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles