Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 15, 2013/ 8 Meanachem-Av, 5773

A Disneyland vignette brightened by a father's magical presence

By Betsy Hart



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Our family had a blast at Disneyland in California last weekend. What a treat! Like a lot of people, I think Walt Disney was in the Genius League with Steve Jobs and others, but I digress.

Late in the day, two of my kids remained with their stepfather and stepbrother while I ushered two others back to the hotel. In 11 hours we'd logged something like 15 rides, but it was upon leaving the park on the shuttle bus that I noticed something particularly special.

I sat near a darling little blond girl, around 2 years old, exhausted after a long day at Disneyland. She was draped over, presumably, her father, leaning the whole of her tiny little chest against his big strong one. And who I assumed were the tot's mother and older sister were next to them.

The father's arms were just right around the child -- not too tight, not too loose -- and she intermittently perked up to call out "city bus!" as another rig with big cartoon characters rolled by. Then she would look at her dad and giggle, and he would laugh with her, and then she would snuggle up again, close her eyes briefly, only to restart the whole "conversation" in a few moments.

What stood out to me is how safe she apparently felt in his arms. By all appearances, including rings and conversation, the parents were married. (How sad that one even has to wonder!) I have no idea if they were a happy family, but they sure looked it. There was no doubt that the child felt really secure and protected in his embrace. A picture really does tell a thousand words.

This was a man using his strength to be gentle and protective. The definition of manliness.

I admit, in watching the little girl, that I was charmed and saddened at the same time. Saddened for a culture in which so many babies are born to single moms. These children don't have what this little one has in the context of a whole family. And they typically won't. For a host of reasons, women who have children out of wedlock are less likely than other women to marry. Ever.



And in the lives of the shrinking percentage of children born into families with fathers married to and living with their mothers? Their dads will be demeaned by the culture as bumblers. The physical strength of their fathers, the tendency of a good man to want to use that strength to protect a woman and children, will be deplored. The idea that the little girl I saw, that any little girl or boy, gets something very different from her dad than what she gets from her mom -- and that it's equally important -- will be laughed at.

Have you ever noticed that, in our lexicon, "to mother" someone means to show affection to that person, to the point of smothering? But "to father," on the other hand, means to genetically contribute half of the DNA, and that's about it? It's too bad.

All of that was on my mind. But then I just let myself enjoy what that little one had right then. She was in the moment, feeling good and safe and happy in her father's strong arms, with Mom and sister nearby -- after a day of Disneyland, to boot.

Where a picture like that can still be seen -- I think it's beautiful.

The term "Disney Dad" is often used negatively to conjure up images of an absentee father who tries to buy his way into his child's life. I think what I witnessed on that shuttle bus is the increasingly atypical, yet truly manly, version of a Disney Dad. Talk about magical.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



BUY THE E-BOOK FOR $0.99

Click HERE to purchase it. (Sales help fund JWR.).

JWR contributor Betsy Hart, a frequent commentator on CNN and the Fox News Channel, can be reached by clicking here.

Betsy Hart Archives

© 2012, Scripps Howard News Servic

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles