Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 5, 2013/ 27 Tammuz, 5773

Three cheers for William, Kate and the newest royal

By Betsy Hart



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I love learning about the impending royal birth. As in the first baby of the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge, William and Catherine, who is due in July.

Seriously. I'm intrigued by all the preparations, curious about everything from nannies to nurseries -- to the fact that her birthing suite in the hospital reportedly has a wine list.

Now that's service.

And I can't get enough of seeing the dignified "Kate" in her oh-so-lovely and fashionable maternity clothes.

Along the way, of course, I've observed some differences between the ways these royals are welcoming their new baby and how a little one so often enters the celebrity world on this side of the pond.

I prefer William and Kate's ways of doing things because (to mention a few reasons):

1. They are married. To each other. What a concept. A mom, and a dad, and they are living as husband and wife. They seem to be quite fond of each other, and that's lovely. But even more important is the fact that they are married! And they will have been for a good little while before welcoming the baby.

2. Kate didn't wait until her early 40s to try to get pregnant for the first time, as if she is somehow entitled to ignore the laws of simple female fertility. I know, I know -- deliberately waiting to have an heir wouldn't happen in the British royal family in any event. But she hardly seems put out by the fact that motherhood is a high calling, and if one is going to be a mom, it's best to jump in when the science is all on a woman's side.

3. This baby will not have a ridiculous, trendy, silly name like, say, "North West." This alone is cause for celebration. Personally, I'm hoping for the name "Charlotte" if it's a girl.

4. Prince William is reportedly taking off two weeks -- and only two weeks -- from work as a search-and-rescue pilot to be with the baby before getting back onto his helicopter. A search-and-rescue pilot? That's a cool job. Dare I say "manly"? And I find that making clear he's going to hustle back is even more so.

5. Unlike so many celebrities who, when having babies, act like no one in the history of the world has ever done the same thing -- WOW, A BAAAABYYYYY, OMG!!!! -- William and Kate, in a sense, are doing just the opposite. Their infant will be one in a very long line of privileged babies born into the royal family. Yes, there will be bottles of champagne popping and news coverage of the birth, and on it goes.



But much of the excitement isn't because this is such a new thing, but because this baby is part of such an old thing. This little one is a player in something much bigger than just himself or herself; he or she is part of tradition, community, family, country. Honoring that tradition will be part of life from the get-go, no matter how much pampering is involved. Whatever you think of the royal family, the baby's little roots will go deep.

Actually, I believe that is always true when a baby is born. We just too often pretend otherwise. William and Kate are making a little more manifest what is the fact for the rest of us: Whether prince or pauper, royal or otherwise, welcoming a new baby is great cause for celebration. It's also a time to note that we are so much better off if we know from the beginning that we are part of something much bigger than ourselves -- that it is not all about "me."

Unfortunately, that's a far cry from how many of us, celebrity or not, see a new baby or ourselves. So when we do get to witness such sensibilities, it's a reason to raise a glass.

So cheers to you, William and Kate, and to your new baby, too. Carry on.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



BUY THE E-BOOK FOR $0.99

Click HERE to purchase it. (Sales help fund JWR.).

JWR contributor Betsy Hart, a frequent commentator on CNN and the Fox News Channel, can be reached by clicking here.

Betsy Hart Archives

© 2012, Scripps Howard News Servic

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles