Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 21, 2013/ 13 Tammuz, 5773

Thank goodness for little girls -- and hubbys, too

By Betsy Hart



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | My youngest, Olivia, just became a teenager. She turned 12. No, she doesn't have the "teen" in her birthday yet. But as I explained to her, this birthday means she completed 12 years of life, and the day actually begins her 13th. So best for her to embrace it.

I, on the other hand, am a wreck.

I'm not worried about whether I can handle another teen. After all, she's the youngest of eight that my new husband, Tom, and I have between us. Teens don't scare me -- been there, done that.

Rather, I'm worried about whether I can let go. I know, I know: Six more years, Lord willing, of her living with Tom and me. That's not what I'm talking about. I'm worried about whether I can officially let go of the little-girl years. Because when the last one leaves a real "phase" -- and she's been leaving the little-girl years for a while now -- well, it's hard.

The next one up from Olivia, Madi, is 14 according to the calendar, but was more like 30 when she was born. The next one up, Victoria, who's now turning 17, lived a long time in the little-girl years.

And the little-boy years? I only had one shot at those. My oldest, Pete, is 19. But my daughters coming up behind him provided lots of distractions, so I coped.



Anyway, I knew during the Christmas season that I would be a wreck about all this. That's when Olivia was cast as "Madeleine" in "Madeleine's Christmas" at our local children's theater. Everything about that production was adorable. She was tall for the part, so instead of "... and the littlest one was Madeleine," the cast sang "... and the youngest one was Madeleine." I loved it.

The dozen girls with Miss Clavel were adorable in their sweet outfits, with pleated jumpers and saddle shoes and tidy white blouses and frilly nightgowns. I thought how Olivia was at the point when she would never again wear anything so little-girlish in real life. I looked at Olivia on the stage, and caught my last glimpse of her as a child. I knew that, in so many ways, she was even then just (begin ital) acting (end ital) the part of little girl. And, I admit, I sobbed.

At the end of the show's run, when we parents had the opportunity to buy those little costumes, I think they could have asked for $1,000 from me and I would have found a way to pay it!

It never ceases to amaze me how attached I am, not just to my children, of course, because that was going to be the case, but to the idea of children in general. I've written before about how I was never much interested in them until I had my own. Now I see a little one, especially in that 2-to-5 range, and I just melt.

So, I expect that soon, when I see 6-, 7- and 8-year-old girls unself-consciously dressed in real little-girl clothes, just like I got to see Olivia doing onstage as she acted something she'd really already lived through, well, I probably won't be able to get enough of them either.

I know I must deal with this. Olivia is happy and healthy and full of life and looking forward to what comes next. And I should be, too. OK, I'm just being a mom, and kind of rolling around in the emotions. It's allowed.

And, I've discovered, maybe this is when a guy, those men who typically like to just fix things, comes in particularly handy. As I began to share all this agony with Tom, he simply said, "Bets, she's 12. Don't start with the whole 'teen' thing yet."

So, yes: Thank goodness for little girls. And thank goodness for husbands, too.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



BUY THE E-BOOK FOR $0.99

Click HERE to purchase it. (Sales help fund JWR.).

JWR contributor Betsy Hart, a frequent commentator on CNN and the Fox News Channel, can be reached by clicking here.

Betsy Hart Archives

© 2012, Scripps Howard News Servic

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles