Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 14, 2013/ 6 Tammuz, 5773

Making Father's Day 'Co-Mom's Day' instead?

By Betsy Hart



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | With Father's Day this Sunday, it's worth asking: Do we really value dads, or should we just rename it "Co-Mom's Day" instead?

Entertainment news sites have recently labeled singer Kanye West, the baby daddy to celebrity girlfriend Kim Kardashian's little one expected in July, a potential "runaway" dad. (He had a hit song by the same name, so sites are having fun with this.)

That's because he has reportedly said he will not be in the delivery room when Kardashian gives birth, though he plans to be at the hospital.

Of course, not marrying her doesn't make West a "runaway." For that matter, Kardashian was still legally married to Kris Humphries when she got pregnant by West. Small detail. But not being in the delivery room? Now (begin ital) that's (end ital) a cause for judgment.

For the record, my first child was born with hubby right there the whole time. By number four, I asked him to go play golf and come over after it was all done. It was blissful.

Sure, a lot of guys say they want to be there when their little darling comes into the world, and that's fine. Really. But I'm guessing a lot of fellows also tell their wives that they are totally opposed to her having a breast augmentation -- even as they wink at the plastic surgeon during the consultation.

So yes, I take such male enthusiasm about the delivery room with a grain of salt.

Anyway, our culture demands that fathers be part of the birth itself, whether they want to be or not. That's because, it seems to me, we women want, at best, to make men "more sensitive" to what we are going through. At worst, we want to punish them for it.

And the common notion that Dad's presence in the delivery room promotes family bonding? Pretty shallow. Think about it: It's much more common for fathers to be in the delivery room now than was the case 50 years ago, but today's marriages fall apart much more easily. So any relationship glue that the father's birthing-room experience provides is pretty unimpressive.

Men are not built to give birth, but we women are. Duh. So why are we trying to re-create them in our image?

And that's just for starters as a father.



Once the baby comes home, this continues. Today, there is a push to make sure that more men take paternity leave. Currently, most men don't use extended leave when offered, The Wall Street Journal essentially opined this week. And they often spend what little time they do take off working from home. The Journal noted that it could be because fathers fear a stigma or loss of work advancement if they take more than a week or two off after the baby is born. Or it could be because of "lingering stereotypes about a father's role in the family," as the Journal put it.

What if a man feels that one of the best things he can do to show his love for his family is to provide for it, even if that includes while the new little peanut is settling in? What if he's -- gasp -- wired that way? Really, this should come as no surprise: Studies show that men with children at home put in (begin ital) more (end ital) hours on the job than those without. A 2011 report from the Families and Work Institute is one recent study to demonstrate such a conclusion. At the time, USA Today quoted Kathleen Christensen, a working-families expert at the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, as commenting in response to the finding:

"They (fathers) feel a very deep and abiding responsibility to take care of their families. The father's identity as breadwinner is so ingrained in who they are."

So why does our culture say there is something wrong with that?

I'm all for husbands helping out wives at every stage of family life -- and vice versa -- and for dads having great relationships with their kids, and making time for them. Such relationships are crucially important. But I'm also for understanding that those relationships will typically operate very differently from the mother-child relationship. This is why kids thrive best with a mom and a dad at home.

When we keep asking "Why can't a dad be more like a mom?," we do so to our detriment. I, for one, hope to help curb this trend. So I will keep saying it as long as I am allowed to: Happy Father's Day!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



BUY THE E-BOOK FOR $0.99

Click HERE to purchase it. (Sales help fund JWR.).

JWR contributor Betsy Hart, a frequent commentator on CNN and the Fox News Channel, can be reached by clicking here.

Betsy Hart Archives

© 2012, Scripps Howard News Servic

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles