Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 6, 2013/ 28 Sivan, 5773

The Age of the Entitled Woman

By Betsy Hart



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The Age of the Entitled Woman.

That we might be living in such an age jumped out at me as I read a recent Wall Street Journal article, "More Doctors Broach Delicate Topic of Women's Age and Fertility Rate." It's a "delicate" topic, apparently, because many women still don't like the fact that as they get older, their fertility drops. As in, goes over a cliff.

That might mean -- gasp! -- choices have to be made.

Today, some 20 percent of women wait until after age 35 to start a family. A growing number. One doctor said he has to find a way to thoughtfully discuss with patients "how they might balance their desires for careers, finding the perfect man and a desire to have children," as the Journal put it.

One might easily expand on that to include "fulfilling" careers and "properly spaced on their terms" children.

The things women are increasingly told by our culture they are (begin ital) entitled (end ital) to.

And yes, any man had better be pretty fabulous so women don't have to "settle." (It used to be called "compromise.") He must be sensitive, willing to change endless diapers and listen to a woman's needs and feelings -- and on and on those expectations go. Just watch daytime TV talk shows to get the list. If, in contrast, you come across a talk show on which a man is saying to his wife, "I need more respect and more sex" -- and he isn't considered a misogynistic boor for doing so -- well, let me know.

At a dinner party a little while ago, I spoke with a woman, about my age, who shared with me her resentment that she couldn't be a partner in her law firm, work 80 hours a week and also be there for her family. So she chose to cut back on work. She felt she should not have been imposed upon to make any such hard choice.

How about considering the fact that she had the privilege of making that choice? Men, including her husband, are the ones who rarely have such options.

Sure it goes without saying -- but I'll say it anyway -- that countless women do not fall into this mold at all. Women who give up much for their families, love imperfect husbands well and are grateful for children even when not spaced or timed perfectly. And sure I'm hardly above an entitlement mentality myself. I wish I could have been a world-traveling reporter, and occasionally feel pangs that, because of my family, that wasn't a real option. Oh well.

Yes to all that. But the fact remains that we live in a culture in which women are increasingly told they have the right to (begin ital) demand life on their terms right now (end ital) and to resent it if they don't get it.

Let's not kid ourselves. The real world simply does not, nor has it ever been expected to, provide the typical man that same luxury.

Anyway, in the end, is living an entitled life what we really want? Maybe not. In "The Paradox of Declining Female Happiness," researchers at The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania demonstrated in their article of a few years ago that while women's lives have objectively improved over the last 35 years, their rate of self-reported happiness has declined, both absolutely and relative to men.

In fact, the abstract to one draft of the study notes, "The paradox of women's declining relative well-being is found across various datasets, measures of subjective well-being, and is pervasive across demographic groups and industrialized countries." In other words, it is consistent and widespread. Moreover, the trend actually reverses what was true in the 1970s, according to the authors, when women self-reported higher rates of happiness than men did.

The reasons for this are varied, of course. But I fear that we increasingly live in a culture in which women will be, sadly, dismayed to learn that one thing they are not entitled to is ... "happiness."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



BUY THE E-BOOK FOR $0.99

Click HERE to purchase it. (Sales help fund JWR.).

JWR contributor Betsy Hart, a frequent commentator on CNN and the Fox News Channel, can be reached by clicking here.

Betsy Hart Archives

© 2012, Scripps Howard News Servic

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles