Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 27, 2012/ 5 Iyar, 5772

Hope in a jar for the wrinkled set

By Betsy Hart



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Hope really does spring eternal. At least for women.

As I perused the shelves at my local drugstore the other day, my teenage daughter said, "Mom, if this stuff really did all the things the labels say it will do, everybody would walk around looking great!"

No kidding.

I remember my mother, when she was about my age, going to bed with her face literally white from the loads of cold cream she slathered on. She would have her hair done once a week, then sleep with toilet paper wrapped around it to protect it. And she NEVER went out of the house without having her face fully made-up.

Still, she never considered any, um "age intervention" -- i.e., a face-lift. Even when she got into her 60s and bemoaned what she felt was her relentlessly aging skin. (I thought she was beautiful, of course.) But she did laughingly fantasize about pulling up all that was dropping, from her ankles on up, and gathering it all on top of her head with a huge clip.

Modern cosmetic surgery can do almost all that, it seems, but I'm more intrigued by the "hope in a jar" that sits within reach, in terms of price and availability, of the average American woman.

Thirty years ago, when my mother was the age I am now, just what did she find on drugstore and department-store shelves?

Thanks to online archives, it's easy to find out. In the early 1980s, it seems my mother could buy Estee Lauder's "Maximum Care Eye Creme," which, according to its advertising, provided "the best in protective and effective care for the delicate area around your eyes. This deeply beneficial non-greasy formula works against dryness and tiny wrinkle lines without interfering with your eye makeup at all."

Lancome sold a "Protective Day Cream: A new beginning for your skin. Every morning." Good old Noxema, its advertising declared, "cleans clean like soap without drying. Moisturizes without grease. Tingles your face alive." The television commercials for Oil of Olay finished with the promise: "It can help you look younger too."

Well, if all that was a local playground, what we have today is Disney World.

ReVive says in its advertising that its "Renewal Epidermal Science (RES) technology, which includes patented, Nobel Prize-winning and bio-engineered ingredients, encourages skin cell renewal."

Immunocologie declares in its ads that its cream mimics "the paralyzing effects of Temple Viper Venom, the ultra-hydrating Immunocologie VenoMAX Complex. ..."

Many of the names themselves just give it away, like Orlane's face cream, "Thermo Active Firming Serum." And, today, Olay's Regenerist Micro-Sculpting Cream offers what drugstore.com describes as an "amino-peptide complex and intracellular fortifier."

Wow.

Oh, and "Hope in a Jar" is a real product name, by the way.

I have no problem with any of this. In fact, in my circles I'm considered something of an expert on the latest in skin care. And what, exactly, is a glycolic acid vs. a retinoid, and when to use what anyway? (FYI, the former is an exfoliant; the latter essentially irritates the skin into producing more rapid cell turnover than it would without it. Really.)

Today this conflating of cosmetics and dermatology-grade skin-care products has given us what is often referred to as "cosmeceuticals." Yes, we've come a long way, baby.

So, as I stood in the drugstore, looking at the flawless skin of my almost 16-year-old, I wondered about, at this rate, what would be available to her in 30 years. And no matter what it is, how could the hype be anymore intense than it is now?

Here's one thing I do know. It's easy to say at her age that, essentially, "it doesn't work." At mine? Hope springs eternal.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



BUY THE E-BOOK FOR $0.99

Click HERE to purchase it. (Sales help fund JWR.).

JWR contributor Betsy Hart, a frequent commentator on CNN and the Fox News Channel, can be reached by clicking here.

Betsy Hart Archives

© 2012, Scripps Howard News Servic

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles