Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 25, 2011 / 21 Nissan, 5771

Wake up, conservatives; Obama was born here

By Betsy Hart



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Once again, mainly in response to The Donald's foray into presidential politics, my email box has been filled with Barack Obama conspiracy theories. The most front and center, of course, is that the president is not a natural-born citizen. Thereby, I suppose, nullifying his presidency.

Now in this space I'm not offering a political treatise as much as I am a call for responsible citizenship. I've been talking about this with my children a good deal lately, partly because we know folks who are, to different extents, caught up in this specious quest.

Yes, specious.

Thankfully, several conservatives and others have answered well the facts of the matter here -- i.e., even if it could be somehow shown, despite all evidence to the contrary, including a valid certificate of live birth, that he wasn't born in Hawaii or anywhere else in the U.S., Obama's birth to an American mother made him a citizen the moment he was born. A "natural-born" citizen if ever there was one. And that's regardless of his father's or stepfather's citizenship, a later adoption or anything else. Just looking at case law and legal precedent, it's clear that a court battle on this issue would get nowhere at best, and so then to what end pursue it?

To cynically tear down the legitimacy of a duly elected president. And that makes it a wholly irresponsible course.

Here's why I know these attacks are for the most part cynical: because it's clear that so many of the folks demanding more "proof of citizenship" for Obama would be profoundly disappointed if an original Hawaii birth certificate were produced. Actually, I fear many would determine it to be a fraud, no matter the facts otherwise.

Instead, conservatives and Republicans across the board should be the first to want to establish and encourage the legitimacy of our government when it is, in fact, legitimate. Obama was freely and fairly elected president of the United States. We must respect that, and call on others to honor it, no matter how much we would like the election to have gone differently.

Can anyone imagine Ronald Reagan getting hung up on demonstrably baseless arguments about a political opponent's citizenship?

There is so much else on which to challenge Obama.

Look, I agree that Obama is far more left-wing than I had guessed he could be; I find his policy agenda, and even his view of America's place in the world, to be destructive; I'm angry that during the presidential contest of 2008 John McCain refused to make Obama's associations with terrorist Bill Ayers and race baiter Jeremiah Wright an issue. And yes, I very much want to see him leave office in 2013.

Satisfied?

I even agree that the left is more likely to demean the public debate than is the right. Yet, typically, only the latter is held accountable by the media for such things.

All true, but so what? As conservatives, we have the responsibility to fight vigorously, to oppose the president on the merits -- in my view, to work hard to unseat him. But to fight on legitimate turf. That's the essence of preserving our democracy.

Conservatives rightly took on the left for its seething, unending rage against George W. Bush during his presidency. But now, too many on the right are doing something similar when it comes to Obama. We should know better. If we don't defend and respect the legitimacy of our duly elected government and our president, we only make it easier for others to irresponsibly tear down those we want to see in office.

Wake up! I, for one, don't want my children to reap what too many on the right are sowing on this issue.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Betsy Hart, a frequent commentator on CNN and the Fox News Channel, can be reached by clicking here.

BUY BETSY'S BOOK
"It Takes a Parent : How the Culture of Pushover Parenting is Hurting Our Kids — and What to Do About It"  

"Hart urges parents to focus...on instilling industry, frugality, sincerity and humility. She encourages parents to reclaim the word "no." Contrary to advice you may have received, you needn't give your child choices, or offer alternatives, or explain to little Suzie why she can't eat eight cookies right before bed-you're the parent, and sometimes you can just say no."

  —   Kirkus Reports

Sales help fund JWR.

Betsy Hart Archives

© 2007, Scripps Howard News Servic

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles