Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 8, 2013/ 28 Nissan, 5773

Moving, and moving on

By Betsy Hart



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The other night my three daughters and I watched the 2001 Disney/Pixar classic, "Monsters, Inc." We enjoyed this movie for children, despite the fact that they're teens (or almost). And the reason we were watching a show for little ones is because my basement threw up into my garage.

Stay with me here. I'll explain the "Monsters, Inc." connection.

I mean huge, heaving globs of stuff. As I write, we're essentially in the "dry heaves" state. Little odds and ends, a puzzle piece here, an old book there, a strand of paper lights in one corner, a broken-down table in the other.

There's nothing like a household move to clarify what one really needs and wants.

A move is on the horizon. My four kids and I will be joining my husband in his home, soon to be our new family's home, about 40 minutes away, when school is finally out for the year and my own house has been leased.

I wrote last fall that many people live together without being married, but my new husband and I decided to do things differently and get married without living together. At least for a few months while our children got through their current "phases."

Anyway, it's time. And so the contents of our basement, after we spent a day cleaning it out last week, were organized into about 20 garbage bags, assorted donation bins and boxes marked for moving.

Now I have to shovel out the garage, it's true, but that's another story.

I haven't moved much in my life. With my last move, almost nine years ago, I don't remember going through so much stuff. That's probably because my children were all little then, 10 and under. I suppose they hadn't had to accumulate a lot of things.

But, most importantly, in packing up there was no sense of "Oh, my kids are too old for this now and that's kinda sad!" since my youngest then was only a few years old.

Nine years later, and I feel like I'm living the last scene of "Toy Story 3," when the once-little Andy, now going off to college, plays with his toys for the last time. That film did me in for about two weeks, as I wrote about at the time.

So there I was in my basement, gathering worn-down, old-fashioned number blocks given to my now-almost-19-year-old son when he was a baby -- given by my mom, just months before she died. Those aren't going anywhere. But there were also books about skyscrapers and the stars -- also my son's; the VHS tape (who even has those?) of "A Pocket for Corduroy," which all my kids loved when they were tiny; a delightful little tea set that belonged to daughter No. 3 -- who just turned 14; and games like "Sorry" and "Candy Land," not played in years. One item after another went into the "books and toys to give away" box.

I know: I should clean out my basement more often!

Of course, after packing it up I went back and plucked out a few things when no one was looking. I justified the little doll's house and the bucket of Legos by telling myself I now have a step-grandbaby and another on the way, so surely we can keep some things for them.

But I'm really keeping them for me. I am not kidding anyone.

When I was a child and looked forward to growing up, that life always included young children. What's a grown-up life without young kids? Well, I'm finding out every day now. I wrote recently about saying goodbye to my minivan of 10 years, and what that means. In a few months, I'll be saying goodbye to a home that was a big part of my children's youth as well. OK, OK, so it's a nostalgic time -- it's allowed.

This, of course, is where "Monsters, Inc." came in. Once we organized all the movies, matching up covers and DVDs for the first time in years, we unearthed the little gem and my oldest daughter suggested we watch it. I think that we all hold onto pieces of our childhood like that.

It was delightful.

It's true I can't wait for the next home, and day-to-day life with my new husband. Wonderfully, the kids are excited, too.

In the meantime, I have to admit that as I look around my clean, cleaned-out, light-filled basement, I'm discovering that time moves on no matter what we do. And as I realize that every movie jacket I see on the bookshelves has the corresponding movie in it and, at their ages, they are finally likely to stay that way, I'm also discovering that having one's children growing up does have some real advantages.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



BUY THE E-BOOK FOR $0.99

Click HERE to purchase it. (Sales help fund JWR.).

JWR contributor Betsy Hart, a frequent commentator on CNN and the Fox News Channel, can be reached by clicking here.

Betsy Hart Archives

© 2012, Scripps Howard News Servic

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles