Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb 17, 2012/ 24 Shevat, 5772

A married man who had an affair tells his story

By Betsy Hart



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I've retold some stories of infidelity in this space: Namely, there's Casey, a woman involved with a married man whose affair ended when, after his divorce, he cheated on her. Then there's the unrelated story of "Denise," whose marriage is in the process of healing from an affair that her husband had.

But I hadn't yet shared a story of a man who had been involved in an affair -- in this case, one who almost lost his decades-long marriage over it.

Meet "Mike." (Not his real name.) Mike wrote me a beautiful letter after he saw my most recent column on "Denise." I receive many such notes from people kindly sharing their stories with me, and I always appreciate them. But this one stood out. I asked if I could call him, and share with my readers some of his note to me. He agreed to both requests.

We talked for a long time. Mike told his wife about his affair when he became afraid she would find out on her own. In any event, he ended the affair, and he told me that he is more and more repentant as time goes on. But it's been less than a year since everything came out into the open. It's still so raw. He is worried about whether she can fully forgive him.

He wrote to me about what happened in the wake of his revelation to his wife. Excerpts of his text have been edited for clarity and brevity:

"We are going through counseling and are 'new' to each other. I was wrong. No ifs, ands or buts. Everything I did was my fault and all the blame needs to lie with me. There is no justification, period.

"I am consoled by only three things:

"1. A renewed faith. Jesus told the adulteress to go and sin no more.

"2. My wife has -- and I hope and pray permanently -- decided to persevere and hold our marriage together. I know she had a choice to make, and, fortunately for me, she didn't choose the worldly choice. She, too, understands that I had a similar choice to make. I never wanted this to unfold for me, her or our families.

"3. Lastly, we both understand that the people we were pre-affair are not the people we wanted to be or ever will be again."

Mike told me in his note, and in our conversation, that he and his wife realize that the dynamics of their marriage need to change. But, that he sees it as his choice alone to fail the marriage. His note had this advice for others:

"For the men and women who are in an affair now: Stop. For the men and women who are thinking of cheating, I suggest you search the Ten Commandments. I suggest you also search your heart for ways to serve your spouse, rather than be critical of them and selfish in your hard heart.

"And in my case, you (Betsy Hart) are right. We all married a flawed spouse. The question is: Are we man or woman enough to love, without ceasing, in the face of all odds against us, until death do us part?

"I failed and have seen the pain in the eyes and expressions of my wife, my children, our extended families. I have seen the disbelief in the faces of friends, colleagues and others.

"God has given me a second chance to hold this frail, young woman's heart in my hands. I will not fail again! She was God's gift to me, and I left her unopened and undiscovered until now. Our children were the gift God gave both of us.

"You can shout out to me in your next column regarding this issue; just call me 'another man who failed.' "

"Failed." Really? I don't think so. Thanks for sharing, Mike.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



BUY THE E-BOOK FOR $0.99

Click HERE to purchase it. (Sales help fund JWR.).

JWR contributor Betsy Hart, a frequent commentator on CNN and the Fox News Channel, can be reached by clicking here.

Betsy Hart Archives

© 2012, Scripps Howard News Servic

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles