Donate to JWR

Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 3, 2008 / 6 Kislev 5769

The shock of recognition

By Paul Greenberg


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The effect of the fog of war on a commander is well known. It separates him from events on the battlefield. Communication is lost or garbled, confusion reigns, and misunderstanding leads to catastrophe.


The effect of the fog of news may be less well known, but it can be just as misleading. I know. Absorbed in the endless news cycle, dazed by data, vision blurs and we cannot see the gathering signs of catastrophe all around.


Yet now and then the fog parts, and we catch a glimpse not only into current events but into ourselves. And it is frightening. Such was the effect of a story in last week's news that had to horrify readers across the country, if only for a moment before we began our holiday shopping.


The story described a crowd so eager to rush into a Wal-Mart on Long Island at 5 in the morning on Black Friday that it broke down the doors and trampled an employee to death. And then stepped right over the body to get into the store, running over other employees trying to help the downed man, and anybody else in its way, including a 28-year-old pregnant woman. The shoppers could not be bothered; they had important things to do. Like pick up a bargain.


There is a message here, a sign. About ourselves. For how many times have we mindlessly rushed through a day, pushing others aside to reaching for things that in the end are only trinkets? Like a driver risking life, limb and sanity by tearing down the highway to save a few minutes to waste later.


This story about a crowd at a Wal-Mart lifts the fog of news, and for once we see modern man, we see ourselves, clearly. They say the root of the religious impulse in man is an awareness, sudden or gradual, that something is missing in us, that we are broken, no longer whole, and desperate to be restored, to be healed by a power or grace greater than our own.


That's the story and it may be the moral of The Fall, if anyone is allowed to take it seriously in this age of the therapeutic. And we forget it at our soul's peril.


There are still such moments when an awareness of the human condition dawns, but they're rare. As Walker Percy noted years ago, whether anyone was listening or not, "most of the denizens of the present age are too intoxicated by the theories and goods of the age to be aware of the catastrophe already upon us."


But now and then our attention is caught by a dispatch from the hell within each of us. We may tell ourselves this is a story about the behavior of others, and certainly not about the absence of a moral consciousness in ourselves. But it won't go away.


The "big" news in the paper is about the financial Crisis, Meltdown, Panic, or whatever the term du jour is. While the real crisis goes unnoticed, or is dismissed as an aberration, rather than recognized as a symptom of what truly ails us, and it isn't economic or anything else material.


For one day a news story surfaces somewhere among the ads and catches our attention despite ourselves. And we are arrested in our mad dash to nowhere. At least for a moment.


That's when the old prayer and confession comes back: We have left undone those things which we ought to have done, and we have done those things which we ought not to have done, and there is no health in us.


Does that last, telling phrase even appear in the Book of Common Prayer any more? Wasn't it airbrushed away about 1979 in the spirit of a spiritless age, and replaced by the prose equivalent of a happy face? Drunk with the theories and goods of the age, we rush on through the catastrophe, trampling over even our selves.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Paul Greenberg, editorial page editor of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, has won the Pulitzer Prize for editorial writing. Send your comments by clicking here.

Paul Greenberg Archives

© 2006 Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles