Donate to JWR

Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 2, 2008 / 5 Kislev 5769

Class in America

By Paul Greenberg


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I know we're not supposed to mention the subject of class in our oh-so-equal society. But no society can exist without a hierarchy. Indeed, that's just about the definition of a society.


Even a system that claims to be egalitarian requires leaders — though they may deny they are. "I stand here as a servant of the people," as Juan Peron sings in Evita. And anyone who doubted it, at least out loud, could always be shot.


Whether an elite is chosen on the basis of merit or on less appealing grounds, like wealth or family or the sheer ability to terrorize a whole nation, an elite will always exist. Call it what you will: The Party, old money, or a Nomenklatura, as they used to say in the now defunct Soviet Union. Or the Establishment, as we still say here.


For a rough idea of the establishment's composition in this country, just look over any list of a presidential campaign's advisers — either Barack Obama's or John McCain's, it doesn't matter.


To govern there must be a governors. At least as long as we live in an organized society. Rather than a Hobbesian state of nature in which life is "solitary, poor, nasty, brutish and short."


On balance, I'd prefer structure. Anarchy can be dangerous to your health.


Besides, a society without distinctions would be one without distinction. To quote William S. Gilbert, he of Gilbert and Sullivan fame, if everybody has to be somebody, nobody can be anybody.


It's always been a myth that America is a classless society, though it's a popular one. A classless society would actually be one in which there was only one class: the poor and downtrodden. For egalitarianism tends to level in only one direction: downward.


But who dares say such things, especially at election time? Politicians must be especially wary of such candor. Their role is to pander, not point out things as they are and must be.


There are some things everyone senses but no one must say. Certainly you must not say them if you're in politics or otherwise a public figure. Our leaders must be careful lest they offend the great god Demos, the ruling deity of this once aristocratic republic that has morphed into a mass democracy.


Nowadays we're all expected not only to be equal but the same. Diversity is constantly being preached, but its advocates seem unable to deal with the kind of diversity that's more than skin deep. The existence of genuine, deep-rooted, intractable differences over ideas and ideals must somehow be denied or elided.


The differences between us that can't be bridged by a round of kumbaya around the campfire need to be acknowledged and tolerated, but that kind of real diversity upsets the merchandisers of purely cosmetic, capital-D Diversity. So they pretend such differences don't exist.


Hey, we're all really just the same, aren't we?


Like hell we are. Which is why tolerance, the rule of law and the Bill of Rights are so important, so we can be our different selves without bullying others or being bullied by them.


So save your smothering love, true believers who would make us all the same. I'll take tolerance any time. And be happy to extend it, too.


If class is one of the continuing themes of American society, it's also a subject fraught with taboos. Much like that other underlying theme of our culture, ethnicity. Such subjects may be raised only with the greatest care. Which may be why we tend to discuss the influence of class in American society only with members of our own.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Paul Greenberg, editorial page editor of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, has won the Pulitzer Prize for editorial writing. Send your comments by clicking here.

Paul Greenberg Archives

© 2006 Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles