Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 5, 2008 / 7 Mar-Cheshvan 5769

We forget ...

By Paul Greenberg


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | We forget. In the mad rush of speculation before the polls open, and the hubbub of claims and counterclaims after they close, we forget. We forget the solemn daylong pause in between. We forget the momentary peace that descends on this suddenly one nation indivisible. We forget the in-between day, Election Day. It is gone as abruptly as it came.


We forget the variety of places where The Decision was made by we the people. Not en masse, not in The Street, not by the cheering throngs with arms upraised to a Fuehrer or Il Duce or President for Life or Dear Leader or El Lider Maximo or Mullah So-and-So ... or any of thousands of other names by which the most modern of that ancient species, the Tyrant, is known in our oh-so-advanced times.


We forget that here the people rule — not in the aggregate, but one by one, just the way we cast our votes, in solitude, in conscience, in that moment of silence like prayer that separates the before and after of the great, quadrennial tumult called an American presidential campaign. We forget the holiness of this day.


We forget the variety of this land reflected dot by dot on those maps of your neighborhood's, your county's, your parish's polling places. From the Norman Rockwell scenes at little churches, schools, and fire stations, to the Ashcan School's crowded tenements and airless streets.


We forget to look up at the cerulean sky presiding over it all on a perfect, still early fall day. Election day dawned bright and clear here in Arkansas, with mild temperatures, as if it were any other, and not the great sabbath of democracy. Are the leaves ever any brighter, the rustle of those that cover the yards and sidewalks ever more satisfying than on a perfect election day in these blessed latitudes?


We forget to look down at the ever-fecund soil, or the cracked sidewalk leading to the polling place. A friend on his way to cast his ballot noted how the roots of a great oak had, over the years, lifted up a whole slab of the concrete walkway. The sight brought to mind a prophecy by a Russian writer deep in the Stalinist snows of another but always the same Russia: Even if the whole of the Earth were covered by concrete, he wrote, one day a crack would develop, and in that crack a blade of grass would grow. Freedom is like that.


We forget this nation's capacity for renewal, its power to remain what it has always been while it is always changing. The last, best hope of the world, Mr. Lincoln called this Union he saved, even though, by now, however derided America may be by those who don't know it, we have become the first. Which is why they still come from all over, the Americans to be. They know something all of Europe's sophisticates and America's own cynics don't.


We forget ourselves, just as the grown forget the child within them. We forget that we are our history as well as future. But Election Day reminds us. Is there a voter with soul so dead who has not left his polling place, his vote cast, his voice recorded, his steps crackling through the leaves underfoot on a golden fall day, the voices of neighbors and once-every-election-day acquaintances, who, his duty done and right exercised, has not thought: This is my country! The United States of America, wrote Walt Whitman, is the greatest poem. It still is.


We forget how many have sacrificed how much for this simple ritual, this pause in the year's occupations, and how many still guard us today. We forget the veterans still paying the price, and those who have paid it in full. We forget to whisper: Thank you.


We forget to vow: We shall not forget.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Paul Greenberg, editorial page editor of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, has won the Pulitzer Prize for editorial writing. Send your comments by clicking here.

Paul Greenberg Archives

© 2006 Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles