Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 23, 2007 / 11 Mar-Cheshvan 5768

Time capsule

By Paul Greenberg


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Dear Historian,


It was wholly a pleasure and compliment to be asked to contribute an article for a time capsule you're putting together. It isn't every day an inky wretch is given a chance to talk to the future.


As you say, writers are an egotistical lot, so you believed the idea would appeal to me. Yet it doesn't. Not that I'm any less egotistical than any other would-be pundit, but my ego isn't the kind that is particularly interested in writing to the generation of 2057, which is when the time capsule would be opened. For someone used to meeting a daily deadline, writing 50 years ahead sounds rather abstract. Even worse than writing for a quarterly.


One of the reasons why I went into newspapering rather than trying to stick it out in graduate school was precisely the dailiness of it. A scholarly treatise might not see print for years. In this business the reaction to what I write, whether favorable or un-, is almost immediate. And that is only one advantage of the ephemeral. It's good to get something written and be done with it. Imagine waiting till 2057 for reader reaction. It'd drive me posthumously crazy.


The late Murray Kempton, an exquisite writer even if he was a newspaper columnist, would understand. He always remembered something he was told by Westbrook Pegler, a figure of fame in this country back in the '30s who went from being a talented sportswriter to a feisty columnist to a demented right-wing crank lost in an alcoholic haze.


It wasn't his hatred of Eleanor Roosevelt that had driven him crazy, Pegler once told Kempton. That was not the case at all. "It began," he explained, "when I quit sports and went cosmic. It finished when I began writing on Monday to be printed on Friday." He just couldn't stand the wait.


Now, sir, if you could find a way to increase my column's circulation in 2007, I would be mighty grateful. But wait till 2057 to be read? No, thanks. I guess it's a character flaw. I'm not much of one for delayed gratification, at least if I won't be around for it.


I've never been much interested in human cryogenics, either. The whole idea smacks of the obscene. When I'm gone, I want to be gone. Let life be for the living. I have no interest in sticking around like some kind of nag. There are days when I almost look forward to the long rest. If the future wants to know what I had to say, it can consult the archives somewhere in the radioactive ruins.


Even if I had the time to spare from communicating with the present, I daresay I'd find other things to write besides some dead-earnest letter to the future — plays, short stories, love letters, ruminations, grocery lists, anything but writing something to be entombed and then disinterred half a century later. How I wish I could write poetry. But so many things are beyond me.


Now if you would offer me a chance to converse with the past, that would be different. I'd jump at it. I do hear from it quite regularly in the form of history, literature, ritual, old photographs and precious memory, and I would love to respond. How many apologies I would offer, how much love I would pour out to those who have gone before me — and gratitude. But the tyranny of time, which imprisons each of us within our allotted span, is such that, when it comes to communicating with the past, I reckon I'll just have to stick with prayer.


Be well, sir, and good luck with your project. If you like, you may include this column in your time capsule or, for that matter, anything else I've written, for what it's worth. But by 2057, I daresay today's newspaper column might sound dated.


Contemporaneously,
Inky Wretch

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Paul Greenberg, editorial page editor of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, has won the Pulitzer Prize for editorial writing. Send your comments by clicking here.

Paul Greenberg Archives

© 2006 Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles