Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 19, 2007 / 7 Tishrei 5768

Voices in the wilderness

By Paul Greenberg


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | You may have heard Juan Williams' voice on NPR. He visited Little Rock the other day to open a conference of historians commemorating the 50th anniversary of the Little Rock Crisis in 1957, a milestone in the history of the American civil rights movement, and I knew I'd have to hear him.


Not because I'm a big fan of NPR's news and opinion, which are fairly indistinguishable. (I know it's old-fashioned, the separation of news and opinion, but I like my editorials clearly labeled as such.) I usually tune in only to find out what today's party line is. It doesn't take long, then I switch to the classical musical station. If I'm lucky, I'll catch some Mozart.


So one morning I'm listening to — steel yourself — "The Diane Rehm Show." Her guest that morning was Juan Williams, and unlike many of her visitors who talk politics, he was making perfect sense. Shocking. I had to keep myself from running off the road in surprise.


Mr. Williams' book and message was summed up in its all-inclusive title: "Enough: The Phony Leaders, Dead-End Movements, and Culture of Failure That Are Undermining Black America — And What We Can Do About It."


BUY THE BOOK


at a discount
by clicking HERE.


Goodness. Polite, well-bred, moderate-to-a-fault Juan Williams is so perfect an NPR type he could be a Daniel Schorr in the making, forever able to deliver an orthodox liberal riff no matter what the news. But today he sounded mad as hell. What had happened?


All the race hustlers who've usurped the leadership of the civil rights movement (which stopped moving years ago) had finally gotten to our author. Mild-mannered Mr. Williams was taking off the gloves. Clark Kent had turned into Superman. It was exhilarating.


Whom did he bring to mind? His style was different, but his message was much the same as that of Bill Cosby, the comedian who has a knack for saying serious things.


Not too long ago Mr. Cosby outraged an NAACP convention that he was only supposed to entertain. Instead, he took note of the sad state of black America, which isn't exactly news. But then he went on to commit heresy. He pointed out that today's racial problems were only made worse by the same old panaceas offered by the same old outfits like the NAACP — more grievance-collecting, more racial preferences, more blame games and less self-reliance the whole, less than self-respecting racket.


And now Juan Williams was preaching from the same text, if in his own well-modulated voice. He sounded like a Bill Cosby for the carriage trade. Talk about a driveway moment. I had to stop and listen to the whole thing. It was even better than Bach.


Later I learned that Juan Williams' book had been complimented by one of my heroes, Nat Hentoff, a columnist whose support for every decent movement in American politics for the past half-century spans both the civil rights and pro-life movements. Wrote Hentoff: "(Bill) Cosby's spirit and energizing candor courses through an important new book — Juan Williams' 'Enough.' "


Hentoff added that Mr. Williams' message "would have gladdened the heart of my friend the late Bayard Rustin, a key strategist for Dr. Martin Luther King Jr." How sad that he needed to identify Bayard Rustin, the idealist and activist who organized the March on Washington in 1963, among many another dream he pursued till it became reality.


But today Bayard Rustin's name has fallen into historical obscurity — another sign of our sad times, when it's how much noise a leader makes that counts, not whether he makes sense.


So I had to hear Juan Williams when he came to town. He did not disappoint. He raised the pointed question: What good is ending Jim Crow in American public schools if the effect has been to produce over-funded, under-performing, resegregated school systems in our inner cities? Like the notorious one in our nation's capital.


He was even honest enough to volunteer that he wasn't sending any child of his to Washington's public schools. As a father he was not about to sacrifice his children to an empty political ideology. Can anyone blame him?


Dismal results follow whenever an inner-city school district falls into the hands of teachers' unions that are more interested in their pay and perks than in students' progress.


For an example to beware, note all the turmoil that has erupted on Little Rock's own school board this past year. Its great accomplishment was to get rid of a school superintendent whose driving ambition was to make Little Rock a high-performing urban school district.


Juan Williams used the same phrase George W. Bush does to identify today's great danger to equal rights in education — the soft bigotry of low expectations.


So where do we go from here? Observers like Juan Williams and Bill Cosby have the right idea: The next great civil rights issue should be the quality of public education — and how to raise it. Student by student, lesson by lesson, grade by grade. What's the point of gaining equal access to public schools if those schools fail to educate?


The true revolutionary doesn't just commemorate the past but builds on it. The next great civil rights leader will not just walk in the footsteps of the ones 50 years ago, but seek what they sought: an equal opportunity to achieve, not just an equal chance at ignorance.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Paul Greenberg, editorial page editor of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, has won the Pulitzer Prize for editorial writing. Send your comments by clicking here.

Paul Greenberg Archives

© 2006 Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles