Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 29, 2006 / 5 Elul, 5766

A successful repetition

By Paul Greenberg


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | BOSTON — I'm in luck, it's raining. Just as it was the first time I visited the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum here just off Louis Prang Street on the Fenway.


It's a nice soft rain, just as it was then, nothing violent, but enough to cool things off and bring out the greens in the landscape against whatever sky you can see in a big city. It's a perfect rain in which to repeat my first visit to the Gardner.


Binx Bolling would call it a repetition. Binx being a fictional character, he never changes. Neither does his natural habitat — pre-Katrina, 1960ish New Orleans. His time and place are fixed forever, like a butterfly sprawled on a pin.


Binx is the moviegoer in Walker Percy's "The Moviegoer." Good ol' Binx, formally John Binkerson Bolling of a good/strange Southern family, would go to the same movie years apart to make himself aware of the passage of time.


Or just to make himself aware. Lest he sleepwalk through life.


It was a rainy day in February the first time I went to the Gardner, or rather was taken there by a lady who loved it. She didn't specify why she did or, at the end of the visit, need to. She was never one to lecture, only to introduce. What you did with her gift was up to you; her pleasure was in the giving.


It's a great luxury to get to a place early. It allows you to anticipate what's ahead, and contemplate how you got there — rather than rush into it.


It's still half an hour before the museum opens. My daughter has insisted on driving me, rather than letting me take the T, so we wait inside the car as the gentle rain splatters on the windshield. I can't remember the year I first saw the Gardner. It was probably before she was born — or maybe when she was a little girl. Now she has children of her own.


It is a fine thing to sit silent with your only daughter in a gentle rain.


She reads her book, and I think back, taking notes for this column. (For some of us nothing happens, even a silent wait, unless we put it into words. Writing Behavior, the psychiatrists call it.)


Then it's time. Snapping open my umbrella, I walk around the corner and join the short line waiting at the entrance to Mrs. Gardner's house. It's a modest entrance, belying the dream palace inside.


Hanging in their accustomed places, the paintings remain the same. Mrs. Gardner's will specified that nothing must be changed, which may explain why some of the works that have grown in fame over the years are hanging in dusty alcoves, or in the dim corner of a guest room, just where she put them in her time.


Some of the best are missing — 13 of them, stolen in a notorious art heist in 1990 that remains unsolved. If you happen to spot Rembrandt's "The Storm on the Sea of Galilee," the only seascape the master ever painted, or the inexpressibly beautiful "The Concert" by Vermeer, give the Gardner Museum a call. Or the FBI. There's a $5 million reward for information leading to the return of the missing works in good condition.


All in all, the stolen treasures would be worth some $500 million in today's market; this may have been the largest art theft in history.


But many of the familiar faces are still right where Mrs. Gardner put them:


Here is Manet's portrait of his mother — the bright birdlike face and gnarled hands peer out from her black widow's weeds. Nothing, you feel, must ever have escaped those sharp eyes.


At one illuminated end of the Spanish cloister on the first floor, there is John Singer Sargent's magnificent "El Jaleo." You can almost hear the dancer stamping her heels.


In the center of the courtyard is an image of Medusa's serpent-wrapped head surrounded by classical figures frozen in place. Mrs. Gardner may have an iron will, but she was not without whimsy. You, too, are hypnotized by her treasures.


Masterpiece succeeds masterpiece. Time has stopped, and on leaving I scarcely notice the rain has, too. I look back at Mrs. Gardner's house and can almost hear her response to my silent Thank You. It's the motto she carefully chose, like everything else, for her house and showplace:


C'est mon plaisir.


It's my pleasure.


The repetition is complete.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Paul Greenberg, editorial page editor of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, has won the Pulitzer Prize for editorial writing. Send your comments by clicking here.

Paul Greenberg Archives

© 2006 Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles