Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 29, 2008 / 24 Iyar 5768

A few days on a small island

By Paul Greenberg


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | EN ROUTE — My heart is pounding as I wait to get on my flight, and it's not because I'm afraid of flying. But it all gets to me now and then — the boarding passes, inspections, proof of identity ("Your papers, please"), and so bureaucratically on.


I come by it naturally. My mother balked at ever leaving this country, for it had taken her so much struggle to get here. She never wanted to stray far from home except to visit family — another kind of home. She was mystified when someone once suggested that she vacation in Europe. ("My dear, I vas born dere.") And she wasn't about to go back. She left the U.S.A. only once — to see Israel. And that was it.


Whenever I would whine about some trifling thing, as adolescents will, she would just look at me pityingly and murmur, Ah, Amerikaner geboren! What would anyone born in this country know about real troubles?


Having finally gotten a precious visa amid the chaos following the First World War, then ridden the rails to what was then Danzig, my mother always stayed in touch with "the girls" who made the crossing with her aboard the S.S. Argentina in the winter of 1921. Her schiffschwestern,she called them, her ship sisters. She'd been all of 19 at the time.


When I was growing up, she always seemed to be looking over her shoulder, as if they'd come any day to take her back, and the dream would be over.


I've just renewed my own passport even though I have no plans to leave the country, and haven't used my old one in 10 years. But best to be prepared.


Now I was in a comfortable chair at the airport, having made it through the gate without a hitch, and here I was sweating a trip that was supposed to be a vacation. Memories linger, even from generation to generation.


TOPSAIL ISLAND, N.C. — There is nothing like the first sight — and sound — of the ocean. Exultation is the going of an inland soul to sea.... —Emily Dickinson.The endless waves stretch unbroken from the beach to the horizon. The white rockers on the balcony sway to their own rhythm, as if occupied by two ghosts taking in the view. Looking out at the Atlantic, I realize there's nothing between this spit of land just off the Carolina coast and ... Tangier.


You get to feeling proprietary about a place you keep coming back to. Each time I cross the drawbridge onto the island after a long absence, I don't know what to expect. What changes have been made in my absence? And they don't even ask my permission. The nerve.


At first relieved glance, all seems as it was on this slim little barrier island — some 22 miles long and maybe a mile wide here and there. There's still only a single stoplight in the town, but on closer inspection Disneyfication has continued to make inroads: A few more mansions of tropical hue (pink and yellow) have popped up along the shore, and, behind the palmettos, over on the side of the island facing inland, planned developments lay in wait.


The houses that line the shore come in all sizes, shapes and styles. Great, towering mansions out of some designer's catalogue stand there as if inviting the next hurricane to demonstrate their hubris. Next door might be a classic beach house — a small, unpainted box with a screen porch facing the ocean, crouching respectfully behind the dunes. There's hope yet: The little island has not yet been reduced to an artificial stage setting, though some of the signs are there.


Half a mile down the shore sits a small house, almost anonymous, wedged between condos and duplexes. The only thing that distinguishes it when seen from the beach is a small American flag fluttering in the evening breeze, its bold colors standing out against the sandy dunes and pale grass. Nothing is permanent in this world, that much I know and maybe only that much. But, please G-d, if anything lasts in this world, let it be that flag and the republic for which it stands, still offering hope and refuge.


High above, regular flights of pelicans and gulls make their sharp-eyed reconnaissance. And not just the birds. A friend of like political persuasion has driven over from Wilmington for dinner. He's retired now from a Washington, D.C., think tank and happy to be. We're talking old times out on the little balcony when the whirl of a helicopter out of nearby Camp Lejeune interrupts our reminiscing. We both look up and say the same thing: Ah, the sound of freedom!And drink a toast to liberty, another endangered species in this ever encroaching world.


A little island, too, requires constant defense against unceasing erosion. Much like liberty itself, it requires eternal vigilance.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Paul Greenberg, editorial page editor of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, has won the Pulitzer Prize for editorial writing. Send your comments by clicking here.

Paul Greenberg Archives

© 2006 Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles