Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 27, 2008 / 22 Iyar 5768

No joking matter

By Paul Greenberg


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The surprising thing is that Mike Huckabee didn't make one of his really tasteless jokes much earlier this presidential year. Some of us who've followed his career here in Arkansas fully expected him to — and were surprised and relieved when he didn't. If he had, his impressively long run for the White House might have ended much sooner. Instead, our native son may have come a-cropper only now, just as he was being talked about as John McCain's running mate on the Republican ticket.


It seems the Huck, who's an irrepressible DJ at heart and in mouth, was talking to a convention of the National Rifle Association when he was interrupted by a loud noise. Impromptu vaudevillian that he is, he immediately said something awful (forgive me repeating it) about Barack Obama's having dived off a chair offstage after somebody had aimed a gun at him.


This kind of worse-than-bad taste may be forgivable, but not easily. Especially not for those of a certain generation whose memory was scarred for life November 22, 1963, when the shocking news rang out from Dallas that black day. Then there was the bulletin out of Memphis one early April evening in 1968 when Martin Luther King Jr. was gunned down. That shock was followed by a flash from Los Angeles in June that same, terrible year about another Kennedy at the height of his campaign for the presidency....


However many years pass, there will never be anything funny about gags that involve somebody's taking aim at a national leader.


In short, we were not amused. Mike Huckabee is a good man who made a great if hard-headed governor of Arkansas (the two qualities tend to go together in some leaders), and he apologized for his "joke" soon after he'd been graceless enough to make it. Let it be noted, however, that this time his one-liner was of a different order from the kind of vulgarity he tends to fall into on other, all too regular occasions, when his gags are simply vulgar.


Context can be all in these matters. It's one thing to sound like a jerk on the Don Imus Show; that's what such shows are for. It's another to do so with no talk-show host pressing you into exchanging wisecracks that would make the average teenager seem judicious.


I know a naive Arkansas editor (namely, me) who once accepted a spot on the Imus Show to plug his book about the Clintons back during the 1996 presidential campaign. I was so blessedly unfamiliar with the basement level of talk radio that I didn't know who Mr. Imus was at the time, or anything about the guy's leering modus operandi.


So I was abashed when my radio host began pressing me for details about the president's sex life. Let it be noted that this was well before that topic had become the subject of false oaths, the impeachment process, and a whole mess of charges about perjury and obstruction of justice, and therefore a legitimate and indeed unavoidable topic of the day's news. Embarrassed, I explained that I wasn't interested, not interested at all, in discussing such a thing. It's hard to imagine a talk-show host taking any such No Thank You for an answer these unembarrassable days, but Mr. Imus did so then. For which this editor is still thankful. It was a different and better, if rapidly deteriorating, culture back then.


We now live in a time when Brother Huckabee — he's a Baptist preacher as well as a politician, a piquant combination — makes a joke about somebody pointing a rifle at a presidential candidate and, though he apologizes for it later, still treats it as just a gaffe.


What really troubles is the Huck's tendency to take a kind of perverse pride in his unfortunate tendency to tell tasteless jokes, as when he just has to add: "And, you know, it wasn't the first dumb thing I've ever said and, let me go ahead and announce on this program, it won't be the last dumb thing I've ever said." He sounded like an incorrigible kid who tends to brag about his screw-ups instead of publicly resolving never, never to indulge in them again.


And, no, Rev. Huckabee, despite what you said in explanation, this wasn't comparable to Ronald Reagan's joking about nuclear war when that president thought he was just testing a mike safely out of public earshot.


Once again, we're confronted with an all too common failing of contemporary American manners: Doesn't anybody know how to apologize any more? That is, by just saying I'm Sorry and stopping there — without having to add the inevitable "but ..." and going on to minimize the offense, which only aggravates it.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Paul Greenberg, editorial page editor of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, has won the Pulitzer Prize for editorial writing. Send your comments by clicking here.

Paul Greenberg Archives

© 2006 Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles