Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 8, 2008 / 3 Iyar 5768

Flashback

By Paul Greenberg


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Out of time. All these things
are really quite old

     —C.P. Cavafy, "On the Ship"


I have reached that age when every new person I meet reminds me of someone I once knew. Just as every news event brings to mind something that happened in that dense thicket known as the past.

Being a history addict can have its advantages; it tends to take some of the suspense out of the news, and explode the all too common delusion that we're now faced with something wholly unprecedented, something Entirely New! Right. Like a new brand of soap powder or toothpaste.

If living in history can be a great liberation that way, it also can be like living in a narrow cell - for it narrows the vision, and invites the smug assurance that this event or that trend or such-and-such a decision will turn out much as an earlier one did.

History may repeat, but it never seems to produce quite the same result. Much like a chemical formula that may have the same ingredients as before but hasn't been assembled the same way, or in which some additional factor, perhaps inconsequential in itself, has changed the whole effect. With quite different, even explosive, results.

Despite knowing all that, reading the daily news can still set off flashbacks.

For example, consider this item the other day about the progress of the Olympic Torch on its uneven way over hill and dale and angry protests. At the time, it was passing through North Korea en route to Beijing for the 2008 Games, aka the Genocide Olympics - in honor of communist China's complicity in the massacres in Darfur. The commissars' crackdown in Tibet has been unconscionable, too. But there was nothing but cheering when the Olympic Torch reached the capital of North Korea:

"PYONGYANG, North Korea - North Korea mobilized tens of thousands of citizens on Monday to celebrate the Olympic torch relay in Pyongyang, the flame's first visit to the authoritarian nation. Men in their best suits and women wearing traditional high-waisted dresses waved flags and paper flowers in the capital, greeting the torch like a visiting head of state. Unlike some other parts of the relay ahead of the Beijing Olympics, everything went off without a hitch in North Korea. Only the most loyal Communist elite are allowed to live in Pyonyang, a showpiece city filled with monuments to the hard-line regime."

Flashback to a starry night in Baku, capital of Azerbaijan, in the fall of 1983, when there still was a U.S.S.R. We visiting editorial writers were taken to what was described as an old caravanserai on the fabled Silk Road. All was, we were told, as it was then. Ah, the romance of a lost past! It was something out of National Geographic. Escorted into a leafy courtyard surrounded by small dining rooms, we danced under a bright, moonlit sky speckled with bright stars - the kind of vista one can see only far away from the glaring lights of great cities.

The sound of oud and dumbek, tambourine and castanets, filled the air as we reclined on pillows to eat our lamb pilaf, drink the local red, and luxuriate as of old. Our hosts could not have been more gracious. After a few glasses of wine, a Sovjournalist with Izvestia told me the secret of life: "Want to be happy for a day? Get drunk. Want to be happy for a year? Get married. Want to be happy for lifetime? Get friends."

We drank to Soviet-American Friendship and anything else we could think of. I was feeling no pain by the time I wobbled up in search of a rest room along one of the corridors, opening the first door I came to.

I was back in the shabby present with a jolt - in some dusty office full of metal desks jammed together and cluttered with the detritus of the day's work - or rather, this being the Soviet Union and a command economy, the day's malingering. The office looked like something out of the 1930s with its pencil sharpeners and carbon paper, pencils and erasers and ancient typewriters. That's when I noticed the lettering on the door: INTOURIST. I was sober in an instant.

It dawned on me then that nothing had really changed in the Russian empire since Prince Potemkin was erecting those mock villages on the Volga for Catherine. All was for show on this enchanted night in Baku, and somehow I'd wandered backstage.

The show goes on. From the same AP dispatch: "As the 12-mile relay wound through Pyongyang, thousands of cheering people lined the streets waving pink paper flowers and small flowers with the Beijing Olympics and chanting 'Welcome! Welcome!' Middle-aged women in traditional dresses danced and beat drums in one square, while young girls held red balloons and bouquets of flowers."

This Olympic year, many a news story awaits to revive memories as the storied Torch wends its way toward Beijing: memories of the well-staged 1980 Olympics in Moscow, of the massacre of the Israeli athletes in Munich in 1972, of Jesse Owens and the 1936 Olympics in Berlin under the New Order.

Yet the search goes on for the fabled Ithaca of international Peace and Friendship - for mir y druzhba, as our Soviet hosts in Baku were wont to say with a knowing smile. I see them even now, still young, out of time, waiting till the sun had set on the Caspian before daring to exchange confidences under cover of darkness.

And if you find her wanting,
Ithaka won't have fooled you.
you'll have understood by then
what these Ithakas mean.
      —C.P. Cavafy, "Ithaka"

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Paul Greenberg, editorial page editor of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, has won the Pulitzer Prize for editorial writing. Send your comments by clicking here.

Paul Greenberg Archives

© 2006 Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles