Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 5, 2007 / 17 Shevat, 5767

Letters from all over

By Paul Greenberg


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Dear Michigan Reader,


It was wholly a pleasure to receive your correction to my obituary tribute to the late Gerald Ford. You grant that young Ford was indeed a center on Michigan's two national-championship teams in 1932 and '33, but he was not the center. Oh, what a difference the use of the definite for the indefinite article can make. An All-American, Charles Bernard, was actually the starting center on those teams.


Glad to have that straightened out. Football is mighty important down here, too.


I also understand that Mr. Ford was president of the United States at one point.


Gratefully,


Dear Distinguished Arkansan,


As wholly a pleasure as it was to hear from you, I wish you hadn't taken exception to the Southernisms I slip into from time to time in this column.


You refer to such colloquialisms as bad "grammar," rather than as bad spelling or pronunciation. There is a difference between those various categories, and it ill behooves as distinguished a citizen of Arkansas as yourself to confuse them.


Why, consider how your loose language might sound to educated people, or just rich folks visiting our state with money to invest. For it is they who seem to be the principal object of your concern — lest they pick up my work, confuse down-home language with illiteracy, and flee the state in horror, taking their money with them.


If I didn't know better, I'd suspect that this outbreak of correctitude on your part is just our old Southern inferiority complex acting up again.


As for the substance of your letter, if I were to follow your advice and avoid homespun language, much of the life would be drawn from my prose, which needs just about all it can get.


There is such a thing as over-correcting the language, until it becomes but a dull, pallid imitation of true Southern speech, which can go from aristocratic finesse to potlikker plain in a New York minute.


So, please, sir, a little more respect for colorful language. You are a distinguished citizen of our state, and should not disillusion your many admirers, me first among them, by blurring your language while trying to improve mine.


It long has been my belief that the first sign of decadence in a people is the impulse to rein in its native tongue in order to cut a better figure with outsiders.


A confession: As an editor of Arkansas' statewide newspaper, I'm less interested in impressing visitors, as welcome as each and every one of them is, bless 'em all, as in speaking candidly to our own folks in this small, wonderfully close-knit state. And there's no better language for that purpose than our own shared speech. If it's vivid enough, readers elsewhere will have no problem understanding it from the context. If they don't, well, it's better to mystify than bore.


I myself much prefer distinct American dialects — especially those of Maine, Brooklyn and New Orleans, as well as Tex-Mex — to standard, plodding, Dick-and-Jane American English.


I'd like to think readers can depend on me to tell it plain — with the bark off, if that informal phrase does not jar your sensibilities.


It is always a delight and honor, not to say a great entertainment, to hear from you on the subject of proper usage. And how 'bout them Razorbacks!


More than cordially,


Dear New Yorker,


It was wholly a pleasure to get your e-mail and insight. Agreeing that the young children of immigrants readily pick up English, you write:


"Living on the ever-expanding edge of Chinatown, every day I see the truth of what you write. The second generation is generally fluent in standard American English and culture, and act as guides. There's nothing quite as poignant as seeing a 7-year-old taking her grandmother to the store."


I can identify with those kids in Chinatown. I used to take my non-English-speaking grandma (Bubba) to the supermarket. She made me point out the U in a circle on any canned goods we bought, so she'd be sure they were kosher. That lady wanted proof.


I know. I had to show her the marks the phylacteries had left on my arm as evidence that I'd said my morning prayers. Only then did I get my breakfast.


Thanks for the memories,


Inky Wretch

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Paul Greenberg, editorial page editor of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, has won the Pulitzer Prize for editorial writing. Send your comments by clicking here.

Paul Greenberg Archives

© 2006 Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles