Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 2, 2007 / 12 Teves, 5767

DADBLAME IT, MISS PRICKETT!

By Paul Greenberg


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It used to be easy to write a year-end column. The subject, the theme, the material it was all there waiting for me in a great big fat file folder that I'd slowly filled with clips of my mistakes through the year.


The only thing I had to do was just write 'em up. I didn't even have to come up with a new headline; it was the same one year after year: Where I went wrong.


You can't beat a headline like that. Readers are natural critics, and what critic can ignore a phrase like that over some know-it-all pundit's piece?


Especially if said know-it-all is always criticizing others. It was surely my best-read column all year.


Of course some years were better than others. One absent-minded day I'd quoted one of the great all-time summations of history, politics, baseball and the human condition in general ("One never knows, do one?") and attributed it to the immortal Fats Domino.


Uh, oh.


Uhhh . . . OH!


I'd got my Fatses wrong. It was Fats Waller who'd said that, not Domino. Great balls of fire! I was in a whole heap of trouble. It was back when e-mail was still young, and my computer screen was filled the next morning with messages from polite folks, and some not so polite, who were more than happy to set me straight. With the verbal equivalent of a two-by-four. OOO-wee, that hurt.


Once that column went out on the wire, I must've heard from every jazz buff, swing aficionado, rhythm-'n'-blues fan, rock-'n'-roll critic, amateur musicologist and disc jockey from Eugene, Ore., to Mount Airy, N.C.


This new medium of correspondence called e-mail, I realized, (a) was here to stay, and (b) was going to be all over me. A columnist wouldn't be able to get away with anything any more.


But at least that slip-of-mind gave me an excuse to go into the difference between the two Fatses in my year-end column. I ain't misbehavin', I explained. I was just confused as usual.


It as an educational experience. After that screw-up, I would know from the start that poor Dan Rather and squirming CBS would never get away with peddling their dubious "scandal" and even more dubious document about George W. Bush's missing some drills with the Texas Air National Guard. Not in this in Age of the Blogger.


But this year I confidently reached for my Where I Went Wrong folder, and there it wasn't.


Huh? Not only were there no clips in it, there was no folder. I hadn't even had occasion to start one.


Had I become infallible this year, or just lucky? Or had my standards fallen so low that I didn't even notice my mistakes any more?


None of the above. It didn't take me long to figure out why this year was different from all other years. The answer came to me in a flash, and in two words: Sarah Prickett.


This has been our new copy editor's first full year on our editorial and op-ed pages, and by now she's saved us from ourselves so many times, she ought to get lifeguard points. But, dadblame it, Miss Prickett, this time you've gone too far! You've cost me a perfectly good year-end column.


What was I going to do now — write a whole new, original one? (Columnists are notoriously lazy. We'd rather quote others, or even our own mistakes, than have to express an original thought.)


It's a truism in the newspaper business that there are plenty of good writers out there but a good editor is hard to find. Because copy editing — the real kind that doesn't stop with correcting spelling and grammar — requires more than just a technical knowledge of the language, which is rare enough. The good copy editor has got to be literate in the broader sense — that is, have what used to be called a liberal education.


Of course that was before education was reduced to training and the student taught only what is "relevant," that is, transient. There is much to be said for an irrelevant education — one that doesn't go out of style because it was never in. Does anyone study the classics any more? If so, what an advantage they must have!


The first indication Sarah Prickett was made for this job was her previous one — as an editor of the Flannery O'Connor Review at Georgia College and State University. And she's lived up to her billing. Scarcely a workday goes by without her catching something on the page and saving our necks. And this is only her day job; at night she teaches, of course, English composition.


Here's my first New Year's Resolution; Hire more Sarah Pricketts!


But in a television-drenched, non-literate, word-deaf age, where do you find them?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Paul Greenberg, editorial page editor of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, has won the Pulitzer Prize for editorial writing. Send your comments by clicking here.

Paul Greenberg Archives

© 2006 Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles