Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 21, 2007 11 Kislev 5768

Merci, Danke, Cheers and Happy Thanksgiving

By Suzanne Fields


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Thanksgiving is the family holiday. The turkey and pumpkin pie bring all the generations together without the bribe of gifts. The main event is the feast that joins good food and good conversation, along with the rediscovery of cousins — first and maybe second and sometimes once removed.


This is the first year that none of my children or grandchildren will be at the table. My son is photographing lemurs in Madagascar; my grandsons and their mother are visiting the "other" family in Chile, where they'll talk turkey in Spanish; and another daughter and her twins ordered their turkey from KaDeWe, the famous department store in Berlin, which features exotic delicacies. Otherwise they probably would dine on sauerbraten because turkey is not exactly a popular dish in Germany (and our Thanksgiving elsewhere is just a large dinner for a Thursday night in November).


I'll enjoy the holiday with my extended family even if I can't supply my children, but nevertheless I have had lots of time to imagine whom I'd invite to a fantasy Thanksgiving meal only for grown-ups. Because Thanksgiving is about friendship as well as family, I'd invite leaders from three countries who have renewed and reaffirmed their friendships with us — Great Britain, France and Germany.


It hasn't been all that long since Donald Rumsfeld kissed off France and Germany as "old Europe," suggesting they were no longer among our firmest friends. "Germany has been a problem, and France has been a problem," the former secretary of state said on the eve of the war in Iraq, which Berlin and Paris opposed. He was sure the center of European gravity had shifted eastward.


The British, who sometimes nap when their national security interests are first threatened, mocked Tony Blair as George W. Bush's "poodle" and expected his successor as prime minister, Gordon Brown, to wag his tail in a different direction. But Brown has shown himself to be a bigger dog for all that. When he came to Camp David in July, he was eager to create an image independent of Tony Blair and suggested a distance had developed between Great Britain and the United States. In his latest foreign-policy speech, he went out of his way to change that impression. America remains our "most important bilateral relationship," he said. That means "we're still closest friends." He emphasized the ties that bind are "founded on values we share" and described himself as a "lifelong admirer of America." These words put to rest the suspicion that his appreciation for Americans didn't extend much beyond "East Coast intellectuals of a liberal bent," as London's Economist magazine put it.

Donate to JWR


It didn't escape his notice that France and Germany conspicuously have been building stronger relationships with us. If German Chancellor Angela Merkel signaled she would call for tougher measures against Iran if diplomacy fails, Gordon Brown threatened tougher sanctions, too. But Merkel had the edge, as she showed when she visited the Bushes at Prairie Chapel Ranch. The contrast with her predecessor, Gerhard Schroeder, who had a frosty relationship with President Bush, said it all.


This month it's Nicolas Sarkozy who's out to win American hearts and minds. His wife dissed the Bushes' invitation to lunch when she visited Maine this summer, but the French prime minister couldn't have been more exuberant in his affection for America than on his visit to Washington this month, showing he has a longer memory than many of his constituents.


"The United States and France remain true to the memory of their common history, true to the blood spilled by their children in common battles," he told a joint session of Congress. "But they are not true merely to the memory of what they accomplished together in the past. They remain true, first and foremost, to the same ideal, the same principles, the same values that have always united them."


Francois Mitterrand, a former prime minister, once boasted that France was in "a permanent war" with America over taste and power. Sarkozy is more observant. "Our children dream of learning about the American way of life and the things that Americans like doing," he writes in his book, "Testimony." Jacques Chirac, the prime minister Americans loathed most, is French toast.


Sarkozy, whom the French sometimes call "Sarko the American," is more like Tony Blair the Englishman in the newest power dynamic, though hardly a poodle, French or otherwise. George W. raised a glass to him in French: "Bienvenue a la Maison Blanche." At my imaginary Thanksgiving table, I would raise my glass in French, German and English, offering appreciation and gratitude for our friendship. So cheers, merci and danke schon. Happy Thanksgiving to us all.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on JWR contributor Suzanne Fields' column by clicking here.

Up

Suzanne Fields Archives

© 2006, Creators Syndicate, Suzanne Fields

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles