Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 3, 2006 / 9 Menachem-Av, 5766

Small town bigotry

By Suzanne Fields


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | My mother grew up in a tiny Canadian town north of Toronto, and hers was the only Jewish family for miles around. A visiting rabbi made sure the meat my grandmother put on the dinner table was kosher, and when the family slaughtered a cow she gave the best parts of the beef to her neighbors.


But all was not happy and serene. My mother told a story to me years ago, when I was a child, that still brings tears to my eyes. She was about to dig into a piece of chocolate cake at a town picnic when the father of a friend, seeing her with fork in hand, told her gleefully: "You can't eat that, it's made with pork lard. Ha, ha, ha."


Anti-Semitism to a little Jewish girl is never an abstraction, and an anecdote like this stings more than cold statistics. Mom always thought the story of the picnic and the chocolate cake was her mother's "aha!" moment. Not long afterward, the family decided to move on. My grandparents, after all, had left their native Poland to escape such prejudice.


They packed up and joined relatives in Washington, where Jews were beginning to flourish with their neighborhood delicatessens, bakeries and mom-and-pop grocery stores. Theirs was a hardscrabble life for a while, but they had found their American dream, and Mom told me shortly before she died, at the end of a long and happy life, that she never felt another anti-Semitic slight. (But for that thoughtless neighbor's cruel remark she might never have become an American citizen.)


I thought of Mom's story the other day when I read about Mona Dobrich, whose family moved to Georgetown, Del., 30 years ago. She grew up as the only Jew in her school. She eventually married, stayed in Georgetown and raised her daughter Samantha and her son Alex there, where they, too, were the only Jews in school. Samantha and Alex listened to Christian prayers at award ceremonies, potluck suppers and PTA meetings, she told The New York Times, and one day, like my grandmother, she had an "aha!" moment. A Christian minister told the Class of '04 that the only way to heavenly salvation was through faith in Jesus Christ. She saw the hurt in her children, and asked the Indian River School Board to consider more generic prayers for public occasions.


When her request became public, her neighbors organized protests that boiled over on to local talk radio. "What people here are saying is, 'Stop interfering with our traditions, stop interfering with our faith and leave our country the way we knew it to be,'" radio host Dan Gaffney told his listeners. Soon, what could have been settled amicably and with tolerance escalated into a lawsuit. Mrs. Dobrich, feeling threatened by angry telephone calls, sold the house and moved to nearby Wilmington. She sued the school board for damages. To paraphrase lyrics from "The Music Man": "You got trouble, big trouble, right here in the Indian River School District."


The Founding Fathers, most of whom were men of faith, bequeathed a government that separates church and state, protecting each of us in his or her faith (or in no faith at all). The minister at Samantha's graduation ceremony confused a commencement ceremony with a Sunday morning worship service. "Ultimately, [Jesus Christ] is the one I have to please," the Rev. Jerry Fike of Mount Olivet Brethren Church says. "If doing that places me at odds with the law of the land, I still have to follow Him."


Fair enough, but if Mr. Fike felt he could only preach a sermon at the commencement ceremony, the school board should have invited another minister whose convictions would enable him to preach the Gospel from his pulpit and deliver another message at a public-school commencement. Mr. Fike's insistence on doing it his way only divided the community. After a season of controversy galvanized the town against the Dobriches with protest meetings and angry letters to the editor of the local newspaper, one of Alex's classmates gave him a drawing of a pathway to heaven that excluded the "Jewboy."


Differences and misunderstandings become bigotry when an inflamed majority abuses the weak in its midst. Intolerance never lurks far beneath the surface, and snubs and slights can activate prejudice and intolerance, public and personal, and it becomes particularly insidious when a religious leader plays to the mob. Tolerance requires vigilance.


My mother was proud to become an American, in a place where she never again felt isolated for being Jewish. She often joked that in America she could have her chocolate cake and eat it, too. So should we all.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on JWR contributor Suzanne Fields' column by clicking here.

Up

Suzanne Fields Archives

© 2006, Creators Syndicate, Suzanne Fields

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles