Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review January 3, 2008 25 Teves, 5768

Searching for honorable ambition

By Suzanne Fields


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | We've been to some small towns and heard us some big talk, and tonight in Iowa, we begin to get a little closer to the real thing. We've heard a lot about how personal ambition shapes character for better and worse. Are the candidates for president trying too hard? Have they been seeking power too long? Are they in the race for us, or for them?


Most of the analysis has been candidate-specific, without much talk about what it actually takes to be a great president, or even a good one. It's still hard to tell who will begin to separate from the pack tonight. That's often how it works in a democracy. We not only fail to foresee the winners, but have trouble discerning who's likeliest to rise to the occasion inside the confusing fog of troubling events. Most of us who cover the race evaluate and analyze what's both lofty and trite, but we shy from those old-fashioned standards by which we measure excellence.


Robert Faulkner, a professor of political science at Boston University, reminds us in his fortuitous new book that it's important to think hard above the fray, to consider what informed leadership in the past to inform what we expect of leaders in the future. In "The Case for Greatness: Honorable Ambition and Its Critics," he reaches back as far as Aristotle for the standards of leadership, to accurately measure who has the qualities of excellence.


"Magnanimity" and "greatness of soul" applaud ambition as the natural growth of virtue, compelling us to do good because doing good is the right thing to do. You can find these qualities in Nelson Mandela and Margaret Thatcher. We cherished it in Abraham Lincoln, who defined his own ambition with humility when he first ran for public office at the age of 23. "I can say for one that I have no other [ambition] so great as that of being truly esteemed of my fellow men, by rendering myself worthy of their esteem," he said. "How far I shall succeed in gratifying this ambition is yet to develop."


But develop it did. It was what Frederick Douglass, the one-time slave and eloquent abolitionist, saw in Lincoln when he met him for the first time in 1861: "He was the first great man that I talked with in the United States freely, who in no single instance reminded me of the difference between himself and myself, of the difference of color." That quality may be easier to find today, but it's difficult enough. The appeal of Barack Obama, it seems to me, is that he wants to see others and be perceived by others as no different from others, that the color of his skin is irrelevant. He's the first black politician to suggest this is possible. How far Obama can succeed is "yet to develop," but even in his inexperience he suggests he has that potential.


John McCain is another candidate who is truly esteemed by rendering himself worthy of it. That's evident in the fortitude and heroism he showed in a brutal Vietnamese prison camp and in his stake in ideas he believes to be right, even when such ideas cost him the support of his party. Joe Lieberman is another whose ambition encompasses magnanimity and explains why he supports John McCain for president although he's of another party.


Magnanimity for Aristotle required pride based on virtue, public and private, and it grew out of both personal and patriotic attitude, fusing the inside gentleman with the gentleman we see on the outside. "The person who seems to be great-souled is one who considers himself worthy of great things and is worthy of them," wrote Aristotle.


This is particularly difficult to identify in our celebrity culture. We not only expect our presidential candidates to campaign with showbiz celebrities, but to appear to be showbiz celebrities themselves. The Clintons are the model. Michelle Cottle observes in the New Republic that the Clintons "have passed some point where they're no longer just politicians. They're rock stars." That seems to be why the bad things they do don't stick. We expect trashy behavior from celebrities.


If magnanimity is difficult to elicit in the current political culture, it's nevertheless something we should seek in our candidates. True esteem in a leader should mean that he is worthy of such esteem. Nobody is entitled to a pass, in Iowa or elsewhere.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on JWR contributor Suzanne Fields' column by clicking here.

Up

Suzanne Fields Archives

© 2006, Creators Syndicate, Suzanne Fields

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles