Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 19, 2006 / 27 Tishrei, 5767

High school student and his Bush-bashing English teacher

By Larry Elder


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The Indoctrinistas in education remain alive and well. I recently received the following letter:


Dear Larry,
My family and I are huge fans of yours. My 17-year-old high school senior listens to you as well, and has been able to hold his own with many of the liberal teachers. Most of the liberal teachers respect my son for his knowledge and logical thoughts (thanks to you!).


Well, that changed this year. A new "super" liberal English teacher has been indoctrinating and not educating — always calling President Bush names, claiming the war in Iraq was illegal and Bush should be put in jail. My son for the most part has stood up to this tyrant, as this teacher claimed he "welcomes" healthy debate.


The first sign of trouble came after my son stood up to his "liberal claims" and promptly received an "F" on a paper in which the teacher wrote in red "sloppy Republican" at the top of the paper. (I have a copy of this paper if you would like to see it.)


Then we had back-to-school night, and this teacher made it quite clear he enjoys flunking seniors and watching them not graduate. We went up to the teacher afterwards, introduced ourselves, and he promptly labeled our son as lazy. Understand every teacher he has ever had claims the exact opposite.


Then the next day came, and the teacher started in about how Iraq was better off when Saddam was in power, how Bush should be put in jail because of the wiretaps etc., etc. (Mind you, this is an English class studying "Hamlet.") My son raised his hand to counter some of the claims, since the teacher "welcomes healthy debate." He was shut down instantly and was told he could not present his side, as he was uninformed and only going to state the "right-wing talking points," and then, get this, ready . . . "I met your mom last night, and you might have a better understanding if she didn't drink so much while she was pregnant with you."


Not only insulting my wife, and my son, but clearly stating the only way to believe like we believe is to have brain damage!


Thought you might find this interesting.


Keep up the good fight! — Scott


After receiving Scott's letter, I interviewed his son, Owen.


Larry Elder: Owen, this is a public school, correct?


Owen: Yes. On the first day of class he said that he welcomes healthy debate — and he even said that he will disagree with what you say, but he will defend to his death the right for you to say it. . . .


Elder: And not suffer a lower grade as a result?


Owen: Oh, yes. . . . But he starts up the second day of school, about how the war in Iraq is illegal . . . Bush should be put in jail. He even called Bush "Satan." . . . He said Reagan should have been put in jail.


Elder: For?


Owen: Reaganomics. . . . He said Reaganomics does not work, because the government wants to keep the rich people rich, and the poor people poor. There is no such thing as the "middle class."


Elder: . . . This is an English class? . . .


Owen: Finally, my parents did meet him at back-to-school night. The next day, I went to his class. . . . He said, in front of the class, that when he met my parents, my mom hugged him, he returned the hug, my mom started weeping, and my mom said, "Why did I drink when I was pregnant with Owen?" . . . He told us that my mom said that. My mom did not say that. He made all that up.


Elder: He then said, to your class, you might have a better understanding — meaning you might be more intelligent, you might reason better — if your mom hadn't been a drunk when she was pregnant.


Owen: Yes. . . . I just stood there in shock. He pretty much just told the class that I had mental problems, my mom's an alcoholic, and I had family problems. . . . Then he went on his usual rampage. . . . I go to my vice-principal, and I tell him my story, and he gets me out of the class. . . . I am out of his class now.


I asked Owen to invite the teacher to come on my radio show. I wanted to hear how "Reaganomics" lands you in jail, and how the teacher justifies calling President Bush "Satan." Does the teacher, I asked Owen, possess the "cashews" to come on my show?


The teacher refused to appear on my show, but did tell students, "Tell Mr. Elder that cashews are not nuts. They are legumes."


Culinarily speaking, all chefs classify cashews as nuts, as do some botanists. Botanically speaking, however, cashews, like almonds, come from a type of fruit called a "drupe." Inside the drupe's dry, leathery flesh is the cashew "nut" — actually a seed. Peanuts, on the other hand, are legumes.


So, apparently, Mr. Teacher knows even less about "nuts" than he does about "Reaganomics." Looks like somebody deserves an "F."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Larry Elder is the author of, most recently, "Showdown: Confronting Bias, Lies and the Special Interests That Divide America." (Proceeds from sales help fund JWR) Let him know what you think of his column by clicking here.

Larry Elder Archives

© 2006, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles