Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 12, 2007 / 29 Elul, 5767

Oprah's Great Black Hope

By Larry Elder


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Oprah Winfrey, talk show host/media powerhouse, wants Sen. Barack Obama, D-Ill., to become president. According to Winfrey, she bases her support not on politics, but because Obama's candidacy sends a message of "hope."


But Winfrey's own success belies the notion of a "hope" deficit in America. Oprah, a black woman raised in poverty, now boasts an estimated television audience of 48 million every week. Oprah's monthly magazine, O, has a circulation of 2.3 million. Oprah earns an estimated $260 million a year, and tops Forbes' annual "Celebrity 100 Power List." Forbes magazine also ranks Oprah Winfrey as the 21st most powerful woman in the world. (The magazine places black Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice at No. 4.)


Obama, raised in middle-class circumstances, was born to a white mother from Kansas who met and married his Kenyan father while attending the University of Hawaii. Barack Sr. left his wife and toddler son to pursue a graduate degree at Harvard. True, Obama's father abandoned his family, but a few years after Obama's mother remarried an Indonesian man and moved to Jakarta, 10-year-old Obama was sent to live with his white, middle-class grandparents in Hawaii. He attended the prestigious Punahou Academy, matriculated to the elite Occidental College in California and transferred to Columbia University. He then went to Harvard Law School, where he became the first black to serve as president of the Harvard Law Review.


Obama himself acknowledged his privileged background in his book, "Dreams from My Father." He chastised a black prep school friend who Barack thought was unreasonably angry, and urged his friend Ray to drop the angry black man act:


"Our rage at the white world needed no object, he seemed to be telling me, no independent confirmation; it could be switched on and off at our pleasure. Sometimes . . . I would question his judgment, if not his sincerity. We weren't living in the Jim Crow South, I would remind him. We weren't consigned to some heatless housing project in Harlem or the Bronx. We were in goddamned Hawaii. We said what we pleased, ate where we pleased; we sat at the front of the proverbial bus. None of our white friends treated us any differently than they treated each other. They loved us, and we loved them back. Sh-t, seemed like half of 'em wanted to be black themselves — or at least Dr. J."


"Well, that's true," Ray would admit.


"Maybe we could afford to give the bad-assed n——- pose a rest. Save it for when we really needed it."


Now compare Obama's background to that of Oprah Winfrey. Winfrey, by contrast, was born to unwed teenage parents in Mississippi. She was raised by her grandmother until the age of 6, when she was sent to live with her mother in Milwaukee. She was raped by a cousin when she was 9, and later molested by a friend of her mother's and by an uncle. She never told anybody about the abuse, but repeatedly ran away and got into trouble. At 14, she gave birth to a boy, who died shortly after birth. An apparently out-of-control Oprah was sent to live with her father in Nashville. Her father, who had been serving in the armed forces at the time of her birth, enforced strict rules and discipline, including curfews and high grades in school. He required his daughter to read a book every week and write a book report on it.


Hope for minorities in America?


If black America were a separate country, its earned income was $679 billion in 2004. How many blacks know that blacks serve as CEOs for Time Warner, American Express and Merrill Lynch? Only 3 percent of registered voters said they could never vote for a black, and 4 percent said they could never vote for a woman. Care to name the most powerful star in America? Black actor Will Smith. The total worldwide box office of Smith's films exceeds $4 billion!


About Obama, Winfrey said, "I'm reading his book right now called 'The Audacity of Hope,' and I think his sense of hope and optimism for this country and what is possible for the United States is the kind of thing that I would like to get behind."


Yes, some day American voters will elect a black president. "60 Minutes" interviewed Winfrey just as her talk show went national. Asked about her future, she said that she considered her future so bright that it "blinds my eyes." Indeed. Her astonishing success shows that the "hope" express left the station a long time ago.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Larry Elder is the author of, most recently, "Showdown: Confronting Bias, Lies and the Special Interests That Divide America." (Proceeds from sales help fund JWR) Let him know what you think of his column by clicking here.

Larry Elder Archives

© 2006, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles