Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 26, 2007 / 11 Menachem-Av, 5767

Illegal Alien to America: ‘I Have an Attitude of Gratitude’

By Larry Elder


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The following letter should have been written, but was not, by an illegal alien:


Dear American People,


I entered your country illegally. Several years ago, I paid thousands of dollars to a "coyote" to sneak me out of Mexico through your southern border.


I broke the law. I did it out of desperation — desperation to leave a corrupt country whose socialist economic policies make it impossible for me to earn a decent living for my family. Most of us illegals come into your country to earn a living, with many sending money back to Mexico and other Latin American countries. In fact, the Mexican economy depends on these remittances, and would collapse without this money. I say this not to justify my illegal entry into your country, but to explain it.


While I left my wife and children behind, I know that some illegal aliens entered your country with the intention to have children, so-called "anchor babies." Under your laws, these children become automatic American citizens, eligible for welfare benefits.


I can understand your rage at being taken advantage of. After all, we aliens paid nothing to build your infrastructure, and contributed nothing to the welfare programs, the education system or the health care system that many of us now take advantage of.


Studies conflict over how much we aliens cost your country. Some say we cost a lot, although other studies say our hard work reduces the burden on the American taxpayer through cheaper goods and services. In any case, a first generation "illegal" undoubtedly takes more out of your country than he or she puts in. And we cut the line in front of those attempting to enter your country the right way, and threaten the livelihood of some so-called unskilled American workers. Again, I understand your anger.


When your House of Representatives passed the commonly called Sensenbrenner Bill, making it a felony to be in your country illegally, many of my fellow illegal aliens took to the streets, some waving the Mexican flag. Some of those in the streets steadfastly refuse to learn English — however long they have been here — even going so far as to demand "bilingual education" programs in American, English-speaking schools. These illegals were demanding our "rights." What rights?


This sense of entitlement understandably angers Americans. I hear many fellow illegals say, "I didn't cross the border, the border crossed me." Our schools taught us as children that America "stole" the Southwest, including Texas and California. Therefore many illegals foolishly believe that crossing the border and entering your country actually represents a "recapture" of lands to which we feel legally and morally entitled. Never mind that through war, conquest and colonialism, the boundaries of most countries become drawn and re-drawn, with America no exception.


Because your country, unlike my country, does not thoroughly guard its borders (Mexico places the military on its border with Guatemala) illegals from Mexico and other Latin-American countries leave trash on your border, violate the private property rights of Americans living at or near the border, and sometimes threaten American farmers with harm. Also, through your border, Mexican drug dealers smuggle not only people, but drugs and guns, and make a mockery of your territorial integrity.


Some illegals commit crime in addition to the illegal act of entering your country. This includes the drug dealers, gang members and other criminals. Nearly 600,000 illegals live in America while under orders to deport, many of whom entered through your southern border. Others sit in your prisons and jails. This costs American taxpayers both property damage, money and, all too often, even lives. Your outrage is justifiable, and, speaking for myself, I can only say that I am sorry.


Your country stands as a beacon of freedom, having helped save the world from fascism and Nazism in World War II, as well as saving the world from communism during the long, costly "Cold War." And now, your country sacrifices blood and treasure in the war on terrorism against Islamofascism. This makes securing your border not just a matter of economics, but a matter of national security.


Finally I want to say thank you, America. Bless you for allowing us to enter your great country, and to earn a living, an opportunity not available in the countries where we were born. Bless you for not deporting us, for our humane treatment, and for allowing so many of us to take advantage of your educational opportunities, as well as social programs including welfare and health care.


So as you debate immigration reform, please understand that we intend to accept the outcome, and simply hope and pray that the kindness and generosity of Americans can permit most of us to stay. If you allow me to remain in your country, I intend to show my gratitude with hard work and appreciation, so that one day I may call myself an American. Sincerely,
An illegal alien — and I approved this translation.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Larry Elder is the author of, most recently, "Showdown: Confronting Bias, Lies and the Special Interests That Divide America." (Proceeds from sales help fund JWR) Let him know what you think of his column by clicking here.

Larry Elder Archives

© 2006, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles