Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 28 2007 / 12 Tamuz, 5767

The priest with no name

By Larry Elder


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | This is an article about a man who did not want me to write it.


A few weeks ago, I gave a commencement speech at a Catholic elementary school. I received the invitation from a 13-year-old young lady, Elisabeth, who began listening to my radio show at 6-and-a-half years of age, who has now finished the eighth grade and prepares, next semester, to enter high school.


Years ago, her mom wrote a letter to me. The mom drove the car one day with her daughter inside. The daughter's book about Helen Keller somehow flew out of the car window as a result of a bump in the road. The mom told the daughter that the busy street made it too dangerous to go back and retrieve the book. Mom tried to console her distraught daughter by saying, "Don't worry, we'll get you another one," to which the little girl said, "I bet if it was a book written by Larry Elder, you'd go back and get it."


After her mother wrote me about the incident, I sent the little girl a signed copy of my first book, and later received a photograph of Elisabeth — asleep — clutching my book in her hands. Over the years, Elisabeth and I wrote from time to time, and she would discuss politics, social issues, popular culture and other matters talked about on my radio show.


But this article is not about Elisabeth. It is about the pastor of her school.


As I waited to give my commencement speech, the pastor of the school and I spoke for several minutes. I asked him how and why he chose the priesthood. He told me that he had decided, at a relatively young age, to become a priest, but kept putting the matter off. In fact, he worked in private industry for a number of years, "chasing the almighty dollar." Feeling empty, he decided to pursue his true calling — that of helping others. So he quit his lucrative job and began the years-long process of becoming a priest. After several assignments, he became the pastor of this school, located in a middle-class neighborhood.


How, I asked, did it feel to make the transition from the private sector to the priesthood? He laughed. "It was easier than you might think. I actually live right here on the grounds," he said, pointing to a residence building. "The church takes care of my bills. I get $1,000 a month, and now I actually have more disposable income than I did before."


He said he felt tremendous pride in helping to shape and mold young people, and send them on their way to the next step. So a few days later, I called him. Would he agree to an interview? I wanted to write about his transition from the private sector to his "calling" and his contribution to our society.


He paused, and said, "Well, I'm not much into self-promotion. I feel that I simply do what my calling wants me to do. There are many people — soldiers, teachers, firefighters, parents, social workers and others — who, without praise, make the kind of sacrifice or contribution that I try to do every day."


What, I asked, if I write without using your name, your school or your city? You certainly inspire me, and I think your story can inspire others. The priest said he intended to go on vacation next month, and during that time would consider my request. But, he added, "Surely you can find more worthy people to write about."


I told him that any other answer would have surprised me, and his humility and unwillingness to consider himself a hero makes him all the more compelling a subject. He laughed and said, "Again, this sounds flattering, but undeservedly so. I like what I do and feel morally obligated to do that which G-d wishes me to do. Why is that remarkable? Why is that heroic?"


You see, he continued, G-d called me to do this. I saw a need and feel a moral and spiritual obligation to fulfill it. I don't consider this extraordinary. I'm simply doing what G-d expects me do. I don't do it for personal attention or for self-aggrandizement, but for the glory of G-d.


Well, I didn't wait for the pastor to return from vacation. I wrote about him anyway. I hope G-d will forgive me. As for the pastor, that is another matter.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Larry Elder is the author of, most recently, "Showdown: Confronting Bias, Lies and the Special Interests That Divide America." (Proceeds from sales help fund JWR) Let him know what you think of his column by clicking here.

Larry Elder Archives

© 2006, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles