Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 3, 2008 / 27 Adar II 5768

Hey, Kwame, Take a Look at My Mailbag

By Larry Elder


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Detroit Mayor Kwame Kilpatrick, fearing an upcoming indictment on charges of perjury and obstruction of justice, launched into a tirade during a speech about the state of the city.


Kilpatrick, a married man, allegedly had an affair with his married chief of staff. The city fired a police officer and the deputy police chief involved in investigating wrongdoing by the mayor's security team. During the wrongful termination trial, the mayor and his chief of staff, under oath, denied having a romantic or intimate affair.


Unfortunately for the pair, a local newspaper obtained some 14,000 text messages to and from the mayor and the aide, in which they discuss, in graphic details, their affair. The mayor, resorting to the time-honored tradition of blaming everything and everybody but global warming and the Loch Ness monster, said, "In the past 30 days, I've been called a nigger more than any time in my entire life." He then talked about receiving death threats, and blamed the media for its unfair focus on his activities and for the scrutiny's impact on his family. "In the past three days, I've received more death threats than I have in my entire administration. I don't believe that a Nielsen rating is worth the life of my children or your children."


FREE SUBSCRIPTION TO INFLUENTIAL NEWSLETTER

Every weekday NewsAndOpinion.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". HUNDREDS of columnists and cartoonists regularly appear. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


Please, pass the Kleenex. A victim of white racism? Perhaps the good mayor might want to take a look at my mailbag.


The following is a sampling of e-mail — grammatical errors and all — I recently received while promoting my new book, "Stupid Black Men: How to Play the Race Card--and Lose." The book makes the point, among other things, that white racism no longer poses a significant hurdle to black progress and achievement. Apparently, many blacks disagree:


"f—- you and you book n—-er"

"eat s—- an die n—-er"

"Your STUPID!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

"MR. ELDERS, YOUR BOOK "STUPID BLACK MEN" I WOULD THINK THAT A PERSON WITH YOUR EDUCATION COULD COME UP WITH A BETTER TITLE THAN THAT. YOU DON'T SEEM TO LIKE BLACK PEOPLE TO MUCH!!!!!!!!!"

"you are paid to critize the marginal citizens further your paternal allegience to the president even thought he has made collosul mistakes"

"Mr N—-er how much white a— can you kiss at one time. You think cause white people let you make a little money you have arrived. Let me tell you one thing if your a— kisssing self step out of line for one min. you are through. You see n—-ers like you where the Africans catching other Africans, it is in your DNA. You are that one n—-er that abused your brother in slavery. The things some n—-ers will do for money."

"You are no better than Foxnews. You are black folks worst nightmare. It is not white folk who slay us it is uncle Toms like you."

"Why do you hate Obama so much? Is it because you had to whore yourself or forget where you came from and who you are (a black man in a country run by rich white people) to get where you are (or want to be), and he did not? You're simply a HATER/IDIOT/N—-ER!!! Or, maybe your rhetoric is the only way your Uncle Tom a— can make money — trashing successful black people who cannot/refuse to whore themselves for white America like you do."

"STUPID BLACK MEN VS. A SMART A— D—- SUCKING N—-ER." "You are a f—-ing Uncle Tom Bitch."

"Please the next time you take a s—- remember to 'smell it.' Then you might understand what is at stake here as Mr. Obama and the rest of us move America forward, there is no room for you in the universe ahead."

"You are an absolute disgrace to your race — a pathetic self-serving idiot. I usually applaud people of accomplishment but your book and your show is a sell-out. When I see you I think of all the 'n—-ers' that participated in the slave trade. I think that it is 'n—-ers' like you that have held black America back."

"ITS APPARENT THAT YOU ARE A PUPPET, A INDIVIDUAL THAT I WOULD GUESS IS MARRIED TO A WHITE WOMEN, HAD VERY FEW FRIENDS GROWING UP, AND A GOOD PART OF THOSE CHASED YOU HOME AND SOME HOW YOU START ACCEPTING THE ROLE OF UNCLE TOM YEARS AGO. YOU ARE A JOKE, YOU REALLY HAVE NO PLACE IN OUR SOCIETY, YOU SHOULD BE REMOVED FOR GOOD."

In fairness, I received at least one note without expletives, and with proper spelling and grammar:

"You are so filthy and disgusting that being dead would be punishment for the dead! Why don't you hang yourself from a burning cross!"


So, Mayor Kilpatrick, I feel your pain. But so far, at least in my case, no indictment appears forthcoming.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Larry Elder is the author of, most recently, "Stupid Black Men: How to Play the Race Card--and Lose." (Proceeds from sales help fund JWR)

Let him know what you think of his column by clicking here.

Larry Elder Archives

© 2006, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles