Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 1, 2007 / 11 Adar, 5767

Democrat Versus Republican — What's the Diff?

By Larry Elder


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Dear Larry,

I am a vote everyone wants, because I am on the fence. I would not ever declare myself as Democrat, Republican, conservative or liberal. I am an American looking for leadership. I want someone who is honest to be my president, who cares more about my family's well-being than his or her own.


Bush, Cheney and Rumsfeld make me want to puke! No, they did not lie about the Iraq war, but did they twist words, spin stories and make poor decisions? Yes, I think they did.


From being overtaxed to feeling less than protected, I feel our government has failed us and continues to fail us.


We must protect our borders, eliminate the need for foreign oil and stop trying to police the whole darn world.


I work every day and cannot keep a pulse on what happens in our world. Help me make a decision.


G-d bless you,
Chris


Dear Chris,


I understand your confusion and disillusionment.


But I cannot accept your assertion that while Bush "didn't lie," he "spun." If he spun, then everybody did. Bush retained the same CIA director who served under Clinton. That Saddam possessed stockpiles of WMD reflected a virtually unanimous, worldwide opinion of the intelligence community. Going to war is not fun, and Bush did so for the national security of this country. That stockpiles were not found does not sweep away the other reasons for the war — that Saddam had violated numerous resolutions, that he was shooting at the British and American planes in the "no-fly zones," that he had invaded his neighbors and therefore posed a threat to do so again and use resources to blackmail neighbors or fund continued terrorism, that he could handoff a WMD to another party. Pre-9/11, "regime change" became the official policy of the United States. Congress voted for this, and President Clinton signed on to it.


September 11 changed everything, and we went from passivity to offense. Saddam could have avoided war by fully declaring what happened to his WMD as was required by UN Resolution 1441. He didn't.


North Korea confirms the Bush strategy. Once a country goes nuclear, it stays nuclear (South Africa is an exception), and must be dealt with in a different manner. This explains why Iran races to acquire a nuclear bomb, an outcome the Democrats seem perfectly willing to accept. Never mind that Iran says Israel should be wiped off the face of the earth and that "God willing . . . we shall soon experience a world without the United States . . . ."


Weapons hunter David Kay's report shows that Saddam retained the capacity and intent to make WMD, and that WMD or components might have been transferred out of the country "pre-" and "post-conflict" with the U.S.


Democrats believe in strength through peace rather than peace through strength: Negotiating no-nuke deals with North Korea under Clinton; trying to appease Iran when that country took American hostages in '79 under Carter; the failed Oslo Accords under Clinton; and continually stating that the "road to peace" in the Middle East rests on "solving" the dispute between the Palestinians and the Israelis rather than recognizing the true enemy — militant Islam.


This foreign policy worldview is not just naive and wrongheaded, it is dangerous.


I often say the GOP talks the talk — about limited government — but fails to walk the walk: prescription benefits for seniors, No Child Left Behind, pork-filled energy and highway bills, etc. But Democrats are worse. Their unbridled support for the welfare state guarantees that soon more than half the federal budget will go to entitlement programs, with a growing number of younger workers facing higher taxes to support the "benefits" received by older Americans. This statism explains Europe's double-digit unemployment percentage, which results from higher taxes, stringent business regulation and so-called "fair trade" policies — a fancy term for protectionism against foreign competition in order to "save jobs." All of this causes less productivity, lowers living standards and deepens poverty.


Democrats seek to "fix" life's inherent unfairness by taking money from one group and giving it to another.


George W. Bush's approach to illegal immigration makes practical and political sense: comprehensive immigration reform. Secure the borders and prosecute employers who knowingly hire illegals. A temporary-worker program recognizes the reality of jobs that Americans refuse to do for the wages offered, especially given our welfare state that allows able-bodied and able-minded Americans to avoid work. What's the Democrats' plan?


All presidents disappoint. Life is imperfect. But ideal is not realistic. The question is, which party is more likely to keep us safe and growing? Yesterday's Democrats were people like Harry Truman and John Kennedy. Today, the face of the party is Nancy Pelosi and Ted Kennedy.


To me, the choice is clear.
Larry

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Larry Elder is the author of, most recently, "Showdown: Confronting Bias, Lies and the Special Interests That Divide America." (Proceeds from sales help fund JWR) Let him know what you think of his column by clicking here.

Larry Elder Archives

© 2006, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles