Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 28, 2008 / 22 Adar I 5768

No Country for Old Bigots

By Larry Elder


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Bookings to promote my new book, "Stupid Black Men: How to Play the Race Card—and Lose" have been difficult. Many media outlets — television, radio, magazines — flatly turn me down, because they find the title "offensive." The unwillingness to offend, to avoid the appearance of racism, proves one of the main points of my book — that white racism no longer poses a significant problem in American life.


A man's 7-year-old son spotted his dad's recently purchased copy, and asked him, "Why is the book called 'Stupid Black Men'?" Dad wrote and asked me how to answer.


"Well, in writing," I responded, "sometimes authors say one thing when they mean something different. Some call this 'tongue-in-cheek' or 'irony' or that the writer is being 'coy.' All these funny words mean that the writer really means something very different from what, at first, it seems like he is saying.


"You know how sometimes I'll look at my watch and say, 'Wow, time really flew by.' I don't mean my watch grew wings like a bird and flew away. I mean that we were having so much fun, it got really late, and I didn't know it was almost time for dinner!


"You know how Mommy stands at your bedroom door when you haven't made your bed, and she says, 'My, this sure looks clean and neat'? She really means, 'You get in here and clean your room!'


"Suppose Mommy took a picture of your messy room, wrote on the picture 'My Child's Clean Room,' and taped it to the bathroom mirror. Why would she do that? Mommy is trying to get you to do the right thing by showing you how bad your room looks when it's messy. She wants to get your attention by saying one thing, when she means something different. This book got your attention and got you to ask me about it, didn't it?



BUY LARRY'S LATEST


at a discount
by clicking

HERE.


"Now if you read the book, you would find that the book is not really calling black people — or any other group — 'stupid.' It says don't let people confuse you when they say things that are not true. What kinds of things? Things like, 'Most people are out to get you because you are black.' Or, 'Because you are black you can't do well in life no matter how hard you work.' Or, 'White people are really mean to black people.'


"Those things used to be true a long time ago, but they are no longer true. The book is saying life is good. So don't let people treat you like you are stupid — and make you angry and unhappy with life — by saying things about you, about other people, and about our country that are not true. The book says, 'Think for yourself. Believe in yourself, work hard and enjoy life. You are not stupid. So don't let people treat you as if you are.'"


Dad wrote me back and thanked me.


I recently flew to New York to promote the book. I met a lady who described herself as a) an actress, b) performing in Santa Monica, a hyper-liberal town next to Los Angeles, and c) Jewish. Probably not a Reagan Republican, I thought.


Actress: Why are you going to New York?

Me: To promote my new book.

Actress: What's it called?

Me: Well let me first tell you about the book, and then I'll tell you its title.

Actress: Fine.

Me: White racism no longer poses a major problem in America.

Actress: Really?

Me: You mean, really — that's what the book is about? Or really — that I actually believe that?

Actress: Both.

Me: "Black America," if a separate country, would rank No. 16 of the top countries in the world, as to GDP; and the black middle class continues to thrive, an advancement that preceded affirmative action. But Hillary Clinton, before a black audience, accused the then-Republican Congress of being run like a "plantation."

Actress: I see.

Me: Why do Democrats say things like this? Because without that monolithic black vote — 90 to 95 percent at the presidential level — the Democratic Party cannot win. Democrats have not carried the "white vote" since the '60s.

Suppose 70 percent of Jewish children were born outside of wedlock; that the prison population were 50 percent Jewish men; that Jewish urban high schools had a 50 percent drop-out rate; and that 25 percent of Jewish young men — late teens or early 20s — had criminal records, meaning in jail, on parole or on probation. And suppose that the so-called "Jewish leaders" blamed this on anti-Semitism. How would you feel?

Actress: I would resent it.

Me: Now, let me tell you the title. It's called "Stupid Black Men: How to Play the Race Card — and Lose."

Actress: Fantastic title.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Larry Elder is the author of, most recently, "Stupid Black Men: How to Play the Race Card--and Lose." (Proceeds from sales help fund JWR)

Let him know what you think of his column by clicking here.

Larry Elder Archives

© 2006, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles