Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 1, 2007 / 13 Shevat, 5767

Barack: In Search of the Black Vote

By Larry Elder


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "Ri-i-i-ing . . . Ri-i-i-ing . . . "

Operator: Dick Morris and Associates, political consultants. How may I help you?

Sen. Barack Obama: This is Senator Barack Obama. Is Dick in?

Operator: Just one moment, Senator.

Morris: Barack! How's it going? Nice to hear from you.

Obama: Dick, I think I have a bit of a problem, and I knew you'd be the guy to call.

Morris: I'm all ears.

Obama: Look, before your relationship with Bill Clinton soured, you got him elected president, and then re-elected, by getting him over 90 percent of the black vote.

Morris: Well, I don't like to brag, but — Obama: But according to the latest polls, I'm having a bit of trouble with the black vote. Fifty-two percent say they want Hillary, and only 28 percent say they want me. I'm obviously slicing into her, so I know I've got her nervous, but it's not nearly enough.

Morris: Yeah, 28 percent won't get it done.

Obama: Tell me about it! I'm pro-affirmative action, pro-gun control, pro-universal health care and opposed tax cuts for the rich. And I was anti-war before it was cool. I'm a family guy with two daughters. I don't want to cast any stones, but unlike Jesse Jackson, I didn't get some mistress pregnant. And unlike Sharpton, I didn't falsely accuse an innocent guy of rape. I just don't get it.

Morris: Well, let me check my computer. Let's see . . . Reverend Al Sharpton runs for U.S. Senate in New York in 1994, and he gets 70 percent of the black vote. He runs for mayor of New York in 1997 and gets 85 percent of the black vote. Pretty impressive.

Obama: Did you have anything to do with that?

Morris: Well, I don't like to brag, but —

Obama: And Jesse Jackson did even better.

Morris: Let me check. . . . Oh, yeah, here it is. Jackson runs for president in '84, and he gets 77 percent of the black vote. He runs again in '88 and gets 92 percent.

Obama: So what should I do?

Morris: Well, you see, Obama, it's all about street cred.

Obama: Street cred?

Morris: Remember when people attacked President Bush's attitude about New Orleans during Hurricane Katrina?

Obama: Yeah.

Morris: People said it showed Bush's feelings toward black people.

Obama: Yeah.

Morris: Well, you attributed the government response to class, not race.

Obama: Hey, even Spike Lee called it a matter of class, not race.

Morris: Details, Barack. Are you interested in winning this track meet or just running a few laps?

Obama: Okay, okay, so what do I do?

Morris: Well, you could go on one of those late-night shows like Bill did, and whip out your saxophone.

Obama: I don't play the sax.

Morris: Okay. You could pull a Belafonte.

Obama: A Belafonte?

Morris: Yeah, pound on Condi Rice and Colin Powell. Call 'em "house negroes" you know, sellouts.

Obama: But I respect Condi and Colin.

Morris: Okay, how about this? Get yourself in trouble with the feds. Say you've been unfairly targeted by the Justice Department. Then commit perjury and obstruction of justice, and accuse The Man of trying to bring a good man down.

Obama: What?!?!

Morris: Worked for Clinton.

Obama: It did?

Morris: Are you kidding me? After Clinton's trouble with Whitewater/Lewinsky, his popularity rating with blacks went from 60 percent in '97 to 85 percent in '98.

Obama: But — Morris: You gotta remember, Toni Morrison called Clinton the "first black president." So the Lewinsky thing was about "The Establishment" trying to stop "Brother Clinton" from looking out for the black man.

Obama: That's nuts.

Morris: Okay, how 'bout this? Cut a commercial like the one the former head of Chrysler, Lee Iacocca, did with rapper Snoop Dogg. But instead, use Fitty Cent.

Obama: Fifty Cents?

Morris: No, Fitty.

Obama: Fifty?

Morris: No, Fitty.

Obama: Fifty?

Morris: No, Fitty. See, that's the problem. You say "Fifty" when it's "Fitty." No street cred.

Obama: But — Morris: All right, all right. Remember Marion Barry, the former mayor of D.C.?

Obama: Yeah.

Morris: Cops caught him on videotape smoking crack. When they bust in, he said about the woman he was with, "The bitch set me up." He does a little jail time, gets out, blames The Man and gets elected to the D.C. Council. Then he runs and gets re-elected mayor. That, my man, is street cred.

Obama: Did you have anything to do with that?

Morris: Well, I don't like to brag, but —

Obama: I don't think my wife —

Morris: Look, you don't want to play the race card on Katrina. You like Condi and Colin. Your wife won't like this and that. Tell you what, call me back when you get serious. Talk to you later, Barack. Gotta grab this other call —

"Click."

Morris: Senator Clinton! How you doing? It's been ages! . . . What? . . . You want my advice on keeping the black vote? Well, I don't want to brag, but —

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Larry Elder is the author of, most recently, "Showdown: Confronting Bias, Lies and the Special Interests That Divide America." (Proceeds from sales help fund JWR) Let him know what you think of his column by clicking here.

Larry Elder Archives

© 2006, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles