Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 25, 2009 / 8 Teves 5770

Another Year

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | 2010 sounds futuristic. It has that sci-fi ring to it. But here it is upon us, our brand new year.


2010 is no longer the future, it is present day and you and I are a part of it. The number itself connotes images of far out technology and the dehumanizing of society that all those science fiction movies warned us about. But looking around I see no androids doing all our menial work, there are no rocket backpacks zooming us around, and there are no soylent green manufacturing plants. Surprisingly much of what life is today was what it always was, not all of it mind you, but much of it.


Even though we now live in "the future" we still sleep in beds that were basically designed a couple of hundred years ago. For the most part, we eat the same things that human beings always ate, we still tie our shoes in the same way that our grandparents did, and our lawns still need to be mowed, bushes need to be trimmed and plants need watering just as much as they ever did.


We humans still see with our eyes, speak with our mouths, and listen with our ears (although some of us could do with more listening and less speaking). We still get tired, get hungry and feel pain. We get tooth aches, back aches, and sore feet. We still catch colds, stub our toes, get splinters in our fingers, and burn our tongues on hot foods.


Little boys still like getting dirty, climbing trees and scaring little girls. Little girls still enjoy playing with their hair, dressing up, and teasing little boys. Teenagers still rebel against their parents, teenage boys still do stupid, dopey things and try to impress girls, teenage girls still giggle, talk like airheads and try to make themselves attractive to boys.

Letter from JWR publisher


We still fall in love and cry at weddings. We still overeat at Thanksgiving, blow out candles on our birthday cakes, and sing auld lang syne on New Year's Eve. We still sing Christmas carols and watch fireworks on the 4th of July. We still need the approval of those we care about most and take care of the loved ones who cannot care for themselves. We humans still need to be needed.


In these futuristic times motivations and desires are as they have always been. The world still turns on those same needs and incentives. The forces of money, power and sex are unchanging and as powerful as they ever were. Ambition, luck, hard work and the right connections are still the ingredients for success. Greed is still with us, as is selfishness, hate and self pity. Some things never change in the futuristic world.


The physical makeup of human beings has not changed; we are skin, bone, blood, muscle and water. We live, we get sick, and we die. Some things never change. But some things do. The world of 2010 is certainly not the same as the world of 1910. Our world isn't the world of 1945 or even 1980. In general, the world has grown coarser, meaner, and much more vulgar.


Many pretences and niceties have been discarded. We no longer dress for dinner, or to travel, or for church or synagogue, or really anything at all. We no longer care who hears our private conversations in public. It seems we just don't try to control ourselves anymore. Young woman swear like the proverbial drunken sailors, narcissism is commonplace, the concept of "shame" is gone, as is teaching children to be well-behaved in public. Accountability, responsibility and self-reliance have been replaced by the victim-hood mentality.


Men's attitude toward women has been altered so that many of the graces that a gentleman once showed to a lady do not exist anymore. Holding doors, pulling out chairs, standing when a woman enters a room, watching your language when in the company of the "fair sex," these things are simply not done and are considered laughable in our "enlightened" age.


There are other changes too. There is no getting around the fact that technology has made enormous advances in our society over the last couple of decades. Land line telephones are fast disappearing as more and more people choose to own only cell phones. The advances in computers and other electronic devices have completely changed our lives and will continue to change the way we communicate and interact with each other.


And so here we are in the new year of 2010. Some things have not and will not ever be altered, while some other things will never be the same again. But still the human race goes on and with it a little old-fashioned thing called hope. As in New Year's of the past, we still hope for the best for ourselves, for our family, for our country and for the future. I hope the new year is good to you. Happy New Year all!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles