Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 22, 2006 / 1 Kislev 5767

Send in the clones

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The fall and winter holiday season is always a time of hustle and bustle, so if you happen to have missed some big news a couple of months back I won't hold it against you. The news had to do with a new possible FDA ruling on certain foods. No, it's not trans fats this time, although if New York Mayor Bloomberg had his way, the FDA would follow his lead and ban trans fats immediately, if not sooner. Mayor Bloomberg would like to be the chief of the food police for the entire hemisphere I think.


The FDA is not looking to ban anything this time; actually they appear to be on the verge of ALLOWING something that, at least in my estimation, is a bit more controversial than cooking oil. According to the Associated Press, the FDA is moving closer to approving meat and milk from cloned animals for public consumption. Not cologned animals, although that would be interesting, but CLONED animals. You know, like Dolly, that sheep that was cloned by Scottish scientists back in 1996.


Most of us remember Dolly being cloned but how many of us remember Dolly being euthanized and why. In 2002 she developed acute arthritis, a condition usually expected in older animals, and was diagnosed with progressive lung disease the following year. The decision to end her life at the age of six was made after a veterinary exam confirmed the lung disease. Most normal sheep live to 11 or 12 years of age. Clearly Dolly became old and sick before her time. It was not clear whether the cloning process led to the arthritis, but research in 1999 suggested that Dolly might be susceptible to premature ageing — a possibility raised after a study of her genetics.

Donate to JWR


The Bush administration is reviewing the plans of the Food and Drug Administration to regulate cloned animals and food derived from them. A draft of the plans is supposed to be released by the end of the year, the FDA said. Here's a quote from the agency itself. "Studies show that the meat and milk from cattle clones and their offspring are as safe as that from conventionally bred animals." So there. So now would you like a nice glass of chocolate milk cloned from contented cows?


I don't know, maybe it's just me, but I really find the thought of eating meat from cloned animals unappealing. It's like eating a Xerox of something. I mean, would I be eating a real steak or just a copy of a steak? It reminds me of an episode of the Twilight Zone — the one where the guy's wife wasn't a real person. Would a copy of my wife be just the same as the real thing? Would I know the difference? After all, if Martians from outer space stole my wife and made an exact duplicate of her and sent that duplicate down to me, would I be able to tell that it was not her? And if I couldn't tell the copy from the real wife, then what's the difference?


The biotech industry claims that cloning allows breeders to do what they've always done — select the best animals from the herd for reproduction. Excuse me, but wasn't that the Nazis' goal? I guess the fact that we're only doing this to cows, sheep, and pigs for the purpose of food makes it all okay. Just what we need — a super race of pork.


The ethical question is troubling enough because I don't doubt for a moment that if science is able to create a "designer cow," eventually somebody, somewhere, sometime will start doing it with people. Remember that we live in the age of people obtaining cosmetic plastic surgery on a whim. This is the extreme makeover generation. A time of nose and boob jobs, collagen injections, performance enhancing drugs, fat suctioning, intestine tying, botox, hormone injections, and any number of other medical/scientific procedures which are performed regularly in order to satisfy one's personal vanity at any particular moment.


We are the culture of biological change for the sake of ego. What was that commercial tag line for G.E. years ago? "Better living through science." And wait until Madison Avenue gets a hold of the cloning thing. Don't you know that if the "in" look is, say Paris Hilton, that thousands upon thousands of cloned Paris Hiltons will be created in labs all over the world? That all by itself is a really scary thought and should give us all pause.


Putting the whole ethical issue aside, I still don't want to eat a copy of lamb chops, I want the real thing. And if that means that sometimes the chops will be tender and juicy and other times they may be a little tough, well, so be it. That's life. Or rather, that used to be life. When all the waitresses in all the restaurants start looking like Paris Hilton I guess cloned lamb chops will be the least of my worries.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2006, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles