Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 21, 2007 / 12 Teves 5768

Three Nights at the Theater

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Hold onto your hats. The following comment may shock you. I saw two musical shows last week that I actually enjoyed! I know this is hard to believe, but it is true and I must say, a pleasure to report. So often I find that the theater has nothing to offer me these days, it seems shows are either completely juvenile or else they are message driven, envelope-pushing propaganda vehicles that completely turn me off. The theater has forgotten how to put on a show that is simply good old fashioned entertainment - no agendas, no politically-correct innuendos, just great performers putting on a solid production with a well written book and terrific songs.


So I went to the theater twice last week and actually had a good time! Actually, before I get into those shows, I should say that the fun theater experience first began over a month ago when I saw "Wicked" - the Broadway smash hit that turns The Wizard of Oz on its head by telling the story from the witch's point of view.


My sister had seen the show first and enjoyed it so much that she bought tickets for my wife's birthday and the three of us went to see it. "Wicked" was a lot of fun and I left the theater laughing with my wife and sister. The actress who plays Glinda, the good witch, is a riot and brings the house down with the number, "Popular." (You should hear my sister singing the song!)


Then last week came a couple of real surprises. The first one was "The Kid from Brooklyn - The Danny Kaye Story." Brian Childers plays Kaye and he captures the persona perfectly. The other performers; Karin Leone (excellent as Sylvia Fine), Christina Purcell, and Joshua Finkel were very good too, but Childers IS the show. He does Danny Kaye without doing a broad Danny Kaye "impersonation," if you know what I mean. He becomes Kaye and watching him do the famous numbers that made Danny Kaye a star, you believe that he is indeed Danny Kaye.


Those tongue-twisting Danny Kaye numbers are hard enough to do all by themselves, but add to that the hand gestures, body movements, and voice of Danny Kaye and you begin to realize just how great a performance Brian Childers gives in this show. The wigs and costumes help immensely, and they too are done exactly right. Even the way the jackets fit Childers, just the way Kaye wore them, is right on. Someone really did their job in spades with the research of this show.


My only complaint is with the book. For my money, too much time is spent on the "real life" problems of Kaye. I know the rumors, I've heard the backstage gossip, but guess what? As an audience member I don't want to have the dark side of Kaye brought out in a show like this - a show that is supposed to be a tribute to the talents of Danny Kaye.


I believe people come to this show to laugh and experience Danny Kaye, the performer, not to see Danny Kaye's personal demons. I know I'm not alone, I could sense the audience reaction becoming uncomfortable whenever the show got away from the fun and music. The whole business with the psychiatrist simply brought the show to a stand still.


Was Danny Kaye a human being with foibles and hang-ups like the rest of us? Sure, he was, but nobody really cares. Those who know the man behind the mask don't need to be told, and those who don't know, don't need to know. Moreover, it's not important for this kind of show - just do the great routines and songs - that's really what people came to see, after all. In short, leave the angst to Kafka and the antics to Kaye.


Having said all of that, the performances of all four of the cast members make for a wonderful evening in the theater. And Brian Childers really should get an award (actually, I think he has) for his amazing portrayal of Danny Kaye. That alone is worth the price of admission.


And speaking of wonderful portrayals, "The Rat Pack -Live at the Sands" was another real treat. Amazing is the word for Stephen Triffitt's Frank Sinatra performance. David Hayes as Sammy Davis, Jr. was about as close as you can get to the real deal (unless you could shrink Hayes down to five-foot-two). Nigel Casey as Dean Martin was the weakest of the three, but even there, he had Dino's moves right and if you squinted your eyes and suspended belief you bought it.


Just as in the Danny Kaye show, the costumes and attention to period detail for "The Rat Pack" was spot on. It's those little things that truly make a difference for me. The linchpin of the show is, of course, Frank Sinatra and as I said, the performance was great. Having seen Sinatra himself in Las Vegas and being a huge fan, I was skeptical about just how close an impersonator could get to the Chairman of the Board, but Triffitt nailed him.


The chorus girls were terrific, looking exactly like Vegas show girls of that time, the bang swung, using those knockout charts of Nelson Riddle and others, and the entire evening was a trip back to that mid-sixties time on the Las Vegas strip. The whole production captured the spirit of the time and the friendship that those three entertainers had for each other. I really felt that I spent an evening with Frank, Dean and Sammy. What a delight!


Now if someone could find an impersonator to do Bing Crosby … or Fred Astaire… or … Bob Hope…. Then I'd have reasons to go to the theater more often.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2006, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles