Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 10, 2006 / 19 Mar-Cheshvan 5767

Zoo Review — Sad

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | On the drive over to my brother's house last week-end I had mixed emotions. My wife and I were invited to join my brother Brian and his three year-old son, Max, for breakfast then a trip to the L.A. Zoo. Sure, I was looking forward to spending the day with him and my young nephew, but I hadn't been to a zoo in years, and quite frankly I never really cared much for zoos - even as a kid. It was a good opportunity to be with Brian and Max, however, so we went happily. The breakfast was good and the time spent with Brian and Max was great then we got to the zoo.


Little Max had a fine time, he loved seeing the lions most of all. I took enjoyment from watching Max watching the animals, but watching the animals myself, overall, made me sad. So many of them were just lying around sleeping - out of sheer boredom, I'm sure. Others, like the Orangutans, had a world-weary sad look in their eyes. One particularly large fellow was lying on his back, pushed up against a glass window as we approached. I made eye contact with him and it was heartbreaking. He just looked so defeated.


The elephant rocked back and forth in that nervous, anxious sort of way that they do. I wondered what was in his mind as he swayed. The city council has approved the construction of a bigger elephant enclosure but it can't ever really be big enough for these creatures. They need acres and acres. The giraffes were in a comparatively large area, but given the fact that they can run free over long distances in their natural habitat, their zoo space was inadequate and at best allowed for only slow walking.


Watching the seals swim around and around in the same monotonous, nauseating circle made me dizzy, but it must drive the seals nuts. And I wonder how the mountain goats like the warm Southern California temps while perched atop a fake mountain peak. I don't think they're fooled much by the phony painted snow, do you?


By far, the most telling thing about the animals at the zoo was that so many of them simply kept their backs turned away from the crowd. For example, all four zebras, standing at different sections of the enclosure, were deliberately facing away from the people. It was so strikingly obvious to me that these animals wanted absolutely nothing to do with the gawkers. It would've been funny if it weren't so sad.


I know I must sound like some kind of animal rights zealot, but I'm not. I eat meat and I'm not ashamed of it. The taste of a really good steak is one of life's great pleasures. And I know enough about the philosophy and tactics of extreme groups like PETA and the Animal Liberation Front to be absolutely against them. Any animal group which claims that the killing of chickens is morally equivalent to the Jewish Holocaust has instantly lost all credibility for me. And any animal group that willfully destroys property or threatens people are nothing but terrorists pure and simple.


However, mistreatment and torture of animals is unacceptable. Treating our animals with kindness is the ideal and children (as well as many adults) need to be taught to handle their pets with gentleness and respect. No decent person wants to see animals hurt needlessly or made to suffer. Talking good care of our domestic pets is the responsibility of everyone who has one.


And when it comes to wild animals, I believe they should be, well, allowed to be wild. I know some will disagree, but I think animals are best served when they are simply left alone in their natural environment. There are many, though, who will argue that the best way to protect certain species is within the confines of a zoo, far away from the poachers and hunters of Africa, Asia and South America who have been encroaching on the animals' domain for decades. They have a point. I'm sure the debate will go on for some time.


As far as I'm concerned, when it comes to going to the zoo, I'd rather go to the movies. The zoo leaves me with a deep feeling of depression, frustration, and sadness and the movies usually don't - as long as I avoid any film with Sean Penn, Vanessa Redgrave or Sharon Stone in it.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2006, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles