Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 17, 2008 / 18 Tishrei 5769

Growing Up, Part III

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Working in my uncle's restaurant as a young teenager enabled me to come into contact with people I never even knew existed outside of fiction. The small time hoods, the shoplifters, the con men, the bookies, and other assorted colorful characters gave me a perspective on the human condition that I never would have known otherwise. But it wasn't only the "bad guys" that hung around the place - wherever you have crooks, you have cops. And that was certainly the case with Crosby's Bar-B-Que & Pizza.


The LAPD knew my uncle and liked him a lot too. So much so, that they sort of protected the restaurant. Uncle Donald knew the importance of taking care of the cops, which is why he let them eat at reduced prices or sometimes for free. He looked at it as the price of insurance, realizing that if the police liked him, they'd kind of keep watch over the place - you know, drive by a bit more often when the place was closed and make sure everything was okay. It never hurts in the restaurant business to have the police on your side - especially in a high crime area like East Hollywood.


I came to know a few of the officers that frequented the restaurant. Nice guys mostly, they were nothing like the some of the other hang-arounders that could have easily been rejects from old Damon Runyon movies.


One guy who hung around was not exactly a favorite of my dad's. Matter of fact, he hated him. The man's name was Ivan (I think). He worked as a bouncer in a card club over in Gardenia, when he got off work he drove over to my uncle's to hang out. He was not a young man but he was big, tall and broad, very imposing. He had zero personality and no social graces whatsoever. As my dad would say, "He was a big slob." He mostly just stood around the front leaning on the counter reading the Racing Form and eating pie or anything else he could pilfer. My uncle seemed to like the guy, why I'll never know. I had little to do with him.


Then there was Jerry, a funny-looking redheaded restaurant supply salesman who once was a professional drummer with a band. His music gigs were far and few between, which is why his day job was supplying restaurants with napkins, matches, food to-go containers, etc. But his love was the drums. At one point he even gave my brother some drumming lessons using a practice pad and two drumsticks. Gary was a Bulgarian immigrant who went into the retread/recapped tire business. He and his pals would hog a large booth, order nothing but coffee, and just sit there drinking free refills for hours and smoking. It drove my father nuts that my uncle wouldn't say anything to them, but he never did. One day Gary liked what he saw when he saw Uncle Donald's daughter, Bonnie Lou - so he married her. Funny, huh? You just never know how things will turn out.


Unfortunately I never saved a menu from the place, but I can still remember the food. To start there was a complete line up of pizzas from small to extra large, with ingredients like fresh sausage, mushrooms, pepperoni, green peppers, and meatballs. If you feel really hungry you could order The Big Dago - that would be a combination with everything on it.


The menu had barbeque sandwiches (pork, beef or ham), terrific spareribs, barbeque chicken, spaghetti, all served with the best cheese bread you ever ate! Great side orders - your choice of coleslaw or salad and your choice of baked beans or fries. For dessert save room for the homemade individual pies - coconut cream, chocolate cream, lemon, cherry, or apple.


My first job at the restaurant was delivering food. I was 16 and had my first car, a 1949 Chevy, I think. I'm not sure of the year. It was two-tone green, four-door, and had a stick shift. I loved that car. My dad paid about 50 bucks for it but to me it was worth a million. I'd drag the aluminum hot box out to the car and put in the back seat. Then I'd fill it with the orders and off I'd go. The inside of my car smelled like pizza, ribs, and garlic cheese bread. It was like the best perfume to me, if I close my eyes, I can still smell the smells. Wonderful!


Food delivery turned out to be a good first job for me since it taught me, among other things, how to properly handle money, i.e. making change. In those medieval days before computers, if you dealt with money it was necessary to know how to count the change back correctly to the customer from say a twenty or ten dollar bill. This is something that nobody does anymore anywhere, and I doubt that any store clerk under the age of sixty even knows how to do it today.


Eventually I worked at a variety of jobs in the restaurant including short order cooking, making pizzas, hosting and seating, and taking cash at the front register. I was young, the world was all new, and I had a ball. My first real kiss was from a girl I delivered a pizza to and my first real love affair was with another girl I delivered food to. That didn't go on too long but it sure was nice while it lasted. Remind me to tell you about it sometime - it's a story all by itself.


Yessir, interesting days. For me it was an order of coming of age with a medium pizza and a side of cheese bread.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2006, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles