Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 16, 2006 / 24 Tishrei 5767

‘Doing’ a column

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Sometime ago it must have been decided by The Committee to Abolish Trite and Overused Expressions to do away with the phrase "let's do lunch." And in my opinion it was not a moment too soon. As a person who enjoys and looks forward to dining, I must say it is a relief to actually "have" lunch again as opposed to "doing" it.


"Having lunch" conjures up images of sitting with good company at a nice restaurant and relaxing with a cocktail in a big comfortable booth while waiting for my meal. "Doing" lunch always sounded to me as an unpleasant obligation — just another task like "doing the dishes" or "doing your taxes." Perhaps that was the intention of the phrase since it originated out of the world of business lunches, which certainly have never been anything more than tedious business meetings with food on the table.


"Doing lunch" is also somewhat reminiscent of that other lovely expression, "doing drugs." One can imagine "doing lunch" by going into a seedy part of town, crouching in an alley, tying a rubber hose to your arm and shooting up a Cobb Salad. "Hey, did ya do lunch, man?" "Oh, yeah — I did about four grams of hash. Corned beef hash."


Of course using the word "do" for everything instead of a more specific verb is laziness pure and simple. It is also a way to make an act sound sort of okay that otherwise really isn't so good. For example, "doing drugs" sounds better than "using drugs" or "taking drugs." If you "do" drugs it sounds kind of cool and recreational, if you "use" drugs it sounds like you're hooked.


I try not to overuse the "do" word. It's better to say "I wrote my column" instead of "I did my column." Washing your hair or brushing your hair is more to the point than doing your hair. Doing your hair could mean anything from braiding it to dyeing it to putting it out of its misery. Do is an all purpose verb like thing and stuff are all purpose nouns. Put them together and they are meaningless. "Do your own thing" is about as vague an ambition as you can have. "Let's go out and do stuff" doesn't exactly nail down an itinerary either.


"Just do it" was the slogan behind an advertising campaign several years ago that Nike used to communicate its message of being free to do whatever it is that young people want to be free to do. Which was yet another message for the children on the importance of being self-centered. I'm not quite sure what that message has to do with selling athletic shoes, but that's why I don't work in advertising, I guess. The whole thing is, it doesn't seem to matter what "it" is that you should do, as long as you do it. Okay.


Sometimes using "do" to keep a thought vague is exactly what's needed. For those readers who are above the age of ninety, you might remember the popular song that went, "Do, do, do what you did, did, did before." No one knew what the songwriter specifically meant with those lyrics, but everybody had their own ideas. However, in the song "Let's do it, Let's Fall in Love" everybody knew exactly what "do" and "it" meant with the lyric, "birds do it, bees do it, even educated fleas do it." Oh yeah, everyone knew what "doing it" was all about — and what a naughty little lyric it was. But then Cole Porter ended the phrase by writing, "Let's do it , let's fall in love" which spelled out what "it" was and suddenly made the lyric respectable again. Brilliant.


"It ain't what ya do it's the way that ya do it." True. One of the golden rules of life.


Anyway, getting back to my original point (see first sentence if you've forgotten — and don't feel bad, I had to, too.), now that we don't have to "do" lunch anymore I think it's alright to stop "taking" meetings. I never understood the whole "take a meeting" concept. The "take a number" concept I get. The "take a nap" concept I really like. Personally, I never "took" a meeting myself — at least not without asking permission first. It's like the old joke where the guy says "Did you take a bath?" And the other fellow says, "Why? Is there one missing?"


Okay, I'm beginning to ramble now. I hate rambling. Rambling is nature's way of telling a writer it's time to stop, so I will. The important thing is, I did my column for the week. No, I mean I WROTE my column for the week. Time to "take" a nap.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2006, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles