Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 6, 2006 / 14 Tishrei 5767

Sex, Lies, and Politics

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Before I get into this week's column, I need to address a misunderstanding concerning one of my previous columns. Several readers have written letters complaining that I said homosexuals were the same as child molesters, or words to that effect. I never said that, nor did I ever imply that. My argument was not with homosexuals, it was with liberals. Specifically, I was talking about the inconsistent and dishonest ways that liberalism addresses sexual matters.


My exact words were, "How come liberals claim that child-molesters and rapists can be rehabilitated but homosexuals, lesbians, and cross dressers can't change?" In other words, the liberal position is that people are born gay and nothing can change that. But at the same time, the liberals contend that child molesters can be rehabilitated - that their sexual predilection can be corrected - and they should be returned to society. My point was, a sexual proclivity is a sexual proclivity.


If people with a sexual desire for the same sex are simply born that way and can't change, why do liberals think that people with a sexual desire for children CAN change? If pedophilia is just a sexual choice, then homosexuality should be considered a sexual choice. If on the other hand child molesters are born that way, then instead of rehabilitation, we should keep them in prison forever, away from our children. Liberal positions on sexual behavior are inconsistent, self-serving, and ultimately dangerous to our society. That is my opinion and that was my point.


Since we're on the subject, I find it interesting to say the least that the uproar which began with former Congressman Mark Foley sending lurid sexual messages to an ex-congressional page has now turned into a condemnation of the entire Republican Party. No Republican to my knowledge has defended the actions of Foley, who, it should be noted, was forced to resign immediately after the news broke. To the contrary, members of the Republican Party loudly and vehemently criticized Foley's behavior and promised to look into the details of the matter.


As I recall quite the opposite occurred with Democrats when former President Clinton was proven to be engaging in sexual acts in the Oval Office of the White House with a young intern. At that time, with only one exception that I can think of, (Sen. Lieberman) every single Democrat in the party rallied to defend and excuse Clinton's action. Consider what Democrats said at the time: "Everybody lies about sex!" "They (Monica Lewinski and Clinton) were two consenting adults!" "A person's sex life should be kept private!"


Now that a sex scandal has finally been dug up on the Republicans, the Dems have suddenly become the party of high moral values and unassailable character. What a joke.


And remember Clinton was actually having sex, Foley was only writing sexually explicit messages. I am not excusing what Foley did; I'm only saying that there are gradations of disgusting behavior. Writing sex messages to an ex-page on the internet and having sex on an ongoing basis in the Oval Office with a White House intern while you are "working for the American people," are different degrees of unacceptable conduct.


It took the Democrats a long time but they think they have finally found the sexual equivalent of "Monicagate" to hang on the Republicans. The problem for them is, it won't work. Number one, unlike the Democrats, Republicans never attempted to excuse or defend the disgusting actions of Foley. Number two, unlike Clinton, Foley never denied what he did. He didn't lie about it, he didn't look into the camera and wag his finger and tell America that he was innocent. He resigned in disgrace, as well he should.


The difference between Republicans and Democrats is this; most Republicans will feel guilty and show remorse when they are caught doing something unethical, Dems never do. The Democratic talking points must include "Never, ever admit to doing anything wrong - no matter how much proof there is that you did." Democrats will never own up to their misdeeds, they will obfuscate, backpedal, lie, and do just about whatever it takes to get away with it. Republicans, by and large, tend to admit wrongdoing and resign.


Since we are only a few weeks out of an important election I'm certain this Foley matter will be milked for all its worth by the Democrats. With every passing day "new revelations" will be discovered and broadcast coast to coast by the liberal media. "Foleygate" will be front page news from now until Election Day and the forces at work will do everything they can to paint all Republicans with the same brush. "They all knew about it!" "They were covering it up for months!" "Republicans don't care about the children!" The vast right-wing conspiracy strikes again.


Politicians hitting on young interns and pages are a serious thing and should never be happening in our country. The bums who engage in this, no matter what party they belong to, need to be weeded out and publicly disgraced. I wish Democrats would put aside their partisan politics and join with Republicans to correct this disturbing problem. It is ugly and it is a distraction that America can't afford right now. There are other problems that we as a nation need to address.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2006, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles