Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 3, 2008 / 4 Tishrei 5769

Growing Up — A Million Years Ago

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | You know you're heading for the last roundup when you start reminiscing about your youth. I've been doing that quite a lot lately. Not a good sign, I guess. When I was young I thought about my future. When I was somewhere in the middle I thought only of the present - what I needed to do the next day or the next hour or maybe the next week, but that was about as far as it went. And now that I'm approaching my 6th decade I think of my past and try to remember details about it.


The late sixties was a major time for change in our country and in me too. But what changed me wasn't the music or the drugs or the Vietnam War or student protests, or any of the other cultural upheavals that were going on in the country at that time. It was working for my uncle at his restaurant in Hollywood. That's when I came of age and that's when I was introduced in a major way to the world beyond my secluded, sleepy hometown of Burbank, California.


Yes, believe it or not, back then Burbank was a quiet, small suburban town far away from big city sights and sounds. A kid growing up there might just as well have been living in any small town in Middle America. We had no crime to speak of, no nightclubs, no large chain stores and no major restaurants. Just local stuff, mom and pop stores mostly, a couple of movie theaters, nice little shopping streets, the best school system in the county, and plenty of vacant lots to play ball in.


Oh sure, Warner Bros. and Walt Disney had their film studios in Burbank, but those were factories, they might as well have been manufacturing tires or building cars as making movies behind those gates. The glamour and sparkle of show biz was never at the factories, it was far, far away over the hill in Hollywood, Bel Air, Brentwood, Beverly Hills and Malibu. The movie stars came to work at four or five in the morning and left around six in the evening - going from their cars, through the gates, onto the stages, then back into their cars headed for home.


Between the ages of 16 and 20, within a period of 4 short years, I worked off and on for my Uncle Donald at his pizza and barbeque restaurant in Hollywood. During that period I came into contact with more characters and adventures than all of my previous years growing up sheltered in Burbank. Suddenly I was center stage in a series of Damon Runyon style one-act plays. An education in life that no amount of money could buy. And I loved it.


Initially I would go with my father to visit Uncle Donald at his restaurant, Crosby's Pizza and Bar-B-Q; it was a genuine family business. My uncle put in the long hours, did the ordering of food and supplies, and keep watch on the money flow. He was also a genuine people person - a man with an easy smile who greeted his patrons by name and always stopped by the tables to ask if they needed anything and if everything was all right.


Uncle Donald's wife, Aunt Irene supplied Italian recipes and did much of the preliminary cooking of meats, sauces, and things during the day before the restaurant opened. Cousins Diane, Donna, and Bonnie Lou would wait tables from time to time. Cousin Ronnie flipped pizzas and was a short order cook.


Family was supplemented with additional help. A large German woman by the name of Hilda, who looked like she was right out of central casting, baked pies and bread. Tony was from Italy and made great pizza. Richard was a young guy with slicked back hair who was one of the fastest short order cooks I'd ever seen. And little Mexican Tommy did food preparation, was the dishwasher, floor sweeper, and all around clean up guy. He was with my uncle for many years.


Add to that list, a couple of other waitresses; a skinny brunette named Diana who had a thing going with Richard, and a buxom dishwater blonde named Connie, who had a few things going with a few guys, I'm sure (I had a teenage lust-crush on her but I was never one of the chosen). Then there was an ex-con short order cook who did hard time at the state pen for heaven knows what. I once drove to Las Vegas with this guy. He never smiled. Not once.


This environment and these people provided the basis of my higher education in life. My uncle's place may have been relatively close to Burbank in real miles, but in terms of life lessons it was a world away - maybe an entire universe.


To be continued .

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2006, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles