Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 26, 2007 / 14 Tishrei 5768

Stupid Entertainer Tricks

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I don't know if Red Skelton was a Democrat or a Republican. I don't know how Desi Arnaz voted in presidential elections. I haven't a clue how Nat King Cole felt about the Korean War. And I'm glad. It's a funny thing, but somehow Sammy Davis Jr., Lucille Ball, Bing Crosby, Jack Benny, Perry Como, George Burns, Doris Day, Steve and Edie and all of the other great entertainers who made frequent appearances on television years ago, did so without feeling a need to spew out their personal politics to millions of viewers. Boy, how things have changed!


What is with modern celebrities anyway? Why can't they just perform and shut their stupid mouths? It seems like they've all just freaked out! The latest one is Barry Manilow. Now, Manilow is a major Democratic fundraiser, okay fine. So what? I hate to break it to him, but nobody buys his songs because he is a fundraiser for the Democratic Party. Nobody goes to his concerts because he is against the Iraq war and is pro-abortion.


I assume he's a singer who still wants to sell records and concert tickets. But instead of attempting to appeal to the largest audience he can, he chops his audience in half by refusing to appear on the television talk show "The View," because he did not want to be interviewed by its conservative co-host, Elisabeth Hasselbeck. That's right - Barry is scared of Lizzie.


Manilow was scheduled to appear on the ABC morning show Tuesday, September 18th, the same day his new album, "The Greatest Songs of the Seventies" hits the stores. But those plans fell through because he says he doesn't agree with the politics of Elisabeth Hasselbeck, an abortion opponent and supporter of American troops in Iraq. "I had made a request that I be interviewed by (co-hosts) Joy (Behar), Barbara (Walters) or Whoopi (Goldberg), but not Elisabeth Hasselbeck," Manilow said.


It should be noted that Barry Manilow is a very good friend of Rosie O'Donnell, who left the show under highly turbulant circumstances and has since written a book where she pretty much rakes Barbara Walters over the coals. When O'Donnell was there, she and Elisabeth would often get into heated political debates on the program. Manilow had appeared on the show twice in the past year when Hasselbeck and Rosie were both present, and had been booked for Tuesday's appearance since July. But now I guess Barry is afraid to face Elisabeth alone without Rosie to run interference for him.


"Unfortunately, the show was not willing to accommodate this simple request so I bowed out," he said in a statement on his Web site. But a source close to "The View" said "we canceled him," because producers refused to comply with Manilow's "completely disrespectful" demands. In an earlier statement to the news Web site TMZ.com, which broke the story, Manilow said Hasselbeck was "dangerous" and "offensive." Elisabeth Hasselbeck is dangerous and offensive? You mean as opposed to being rational, good-natured, and repectful like Roadhouse Rosie is.


"It's really too bad because I've always been a big supporter of the show," Manilow said, "but I cannot compromise my beliefs." What? Excuse me, who is asking Barry Manilow to "compromise" his "beliefs"? Why does making an appearance on a talk show (that has three liberal co-hosts and only one conservative co-host, by the way) compromise your beliefs? Since when is debating a subject with someone a compromise of one's beliefs? What the hell is he talking about? I swear I think he's nuts! Too much stretching of the face has distorted his mind. Or maybe the Botox has frozen his brain cells.


How about this, Barry - when you go on the show in order to plug your new album you don't talk politics at all. Just keep your trap shut. OR, you can go on the show, plug your album, and talk politics for a few minutes with the co-hosts by stating your opinion in an intelligent, logical way. WHAT IS THE PROBLEM? Oh no, he can't do that - that would be "a compromise" of Barry Manilow's "beliefs." Give me a break, Barry.


You might write the songs the whole world sings, but you won't appear on the same stage with a conservative woman? What's the matter - are you afraid that it's catching? Trust me on this, Barry, nobody wants to turn you into a Republican, and it couldn't be done anyway. Remember the old axiom about purses and sow's ears? It's kind of like that.


Oh, and one other thing - lose the Phil Spector hairdo already, okay? I know your album is all about 70's music, but tell your beautician that it's the year 2007. Besides, the Phil Spector look only works in the court room when you are trying to solicate sympathy from the jury because you're insane. Spector has bad wigs, what's your excuse?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2006, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles