Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 21, 2007 / 9 Tishrei 5768

Insensitive Jerk of the Month

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Yes, folks, its time once again for the Insensitive Jerk of the Month nominees. As you will see, it was a really busy month for jerks - and hey, the month isn't even over yet! So without further ado, let's get right to our nominees for September. They are:


MICHAEL VICK for his sadistic torture and killing of dogs.


JAMIE FOXX and WHOOPI GOLDBERG for playing the race card by defending what Michael Vick did as nothing more than a "normal southern black cultural thing."


The FILM MARKETING HEADS AT PARAMOUNT AND LIONSGATE STUDIOS for their ingenious use of the witty, sophisticated phrase "Love Blows" on their theatrical posters and billboards for their films, "The Heartbreak Kid," and "Good Luck Chuck." Decades ago the prevailing vulgar term for anything that wasn't all that good was "stinks." When stinks was introduced into our vocabulary it was thought to be a rather coarse and low class way of expressing displeasure for things, which for its time it was. But in terms of vulgarity, that word doesn't hold a candle to the one that came after it, "sucks." Movies and TV loved that one, but it became so common it lost its edge. Now thanks to the bright marketing mavens of the entertainment industry, they have taken culture down another notch with "blows." Oh yeah, sure, we all get the double meaning, guys. How incredibly clever! There's just no limit to the depths of crudeness that these jerks won't sink to.


ALL THE DEMOCRATIC CANDIDATES FOR PRESIDENT (with the exception of Joe Biden) - since none of them when asked, would denounce the MoveOn.org full page ad in The New York Times calling four-star General Patraeus a liar and a traitor to his country That ad ran even before the general had testified. Not one of those candidates would say a word against that far-left hate-group, which tells me one of two things; either they agree with the sentiments of the ad, or they are too cowardly to talk against it. In either case, they qualify as insensitive jerks.


GERALDO RIVERA for saying during an interview in The Boston Globe; "Michelle Malkin is the most vile, hateful commentator I've ever met in my life… She actually believes that neighbors should start snitching out neighbors, and we should be deporting people. It's good she's in D.C. and I'm in New York, I'd spit on her if I saw her." And what did Michelle say to inflame Rivera so much that he'd want to spit on her? Well, she had the gall to suggest that our laws be enforced and illegal immigrants be deported back to their home country. Geraldo Rivera, what a classless slob.


But the real winner is (drum roll here…) actor and husband of Barbra Streisand, JAMES BROLIN, who offered radio listeners a "Happy 9/11" on the day of the sixth anniversary of the terrorist attacks on the U.S., during a promotional appearance for a new movie he appears in.


That's right; Brolin was being interviewed on the Chaz and AJ Show on WPLR, a New Haven, Conn., radio station to promote the film, "The Hunting Party," which tells the story of a washed-up war correspondent, played by Richard Gere, who returns to Bosnia in 2000 to track down a wanted Serbian war criminal.


Brolin was describing the plot of the picture to the radio audience and …well, just read the actual transcript for yourself. The transcript follows:



Brolin: So, you know, it's, it's kind of a parody on how come we can't catch war criminals with all our sophisticated stuff, you know.


Chaz: That's something we've been talking about a lot today on the show for obvious reasons, the sixth anniversary of the Sept. 11 attacks.


Brolin: (Sounding surprised) Right. Oh yeah. (Chuckling) Oh, Happy 9/11!


[Long silence]


Chaz: Well, that's kind of a weird thing to say.


Brolin: [Laughter] I heard silence.


Chaz: Yeah.


Brolin: Well ...


Chaz: Well, we're right outside of New York. I mean, I know people ...


AJ: Right.


Chaz: ... who lost family members so ... I don't know ... we don't say Happy 9/11 around here.


Brolin: (in a happy tone of voice) Celebrate the day, right?


Chaz: Yeah, well, we kind of commemorate the day by remembering the people who were lost and the families that they left behind.


Brolin: I understand ...


Chaz: Yeah.


Brolin: It's a horrible situation how they've been left behind, even now, by, uh, anybody who might, uh ...


Chaz: I think you'd be better off talking about this movie.


If you think this is just one of those freak accident bad day interviews that went wrong and was misunderstood, you might be interested to know that last year, in an appearance on "The View," Brolin, mentioned that his parents and grandparents had been Republicans, and said he had since "started thinking for myself." He then encouraged viewers to visit a website that argues that the World Trade Center buildings fell as the result of a controlled demolition and not because of terrorist attacks.


Personally, I don't give a fig what Brolin believes. He can believe that Martians from outer space took over the bodies of the hijackers, for all I care. But to go on the radio and say in a happy, lilting tone of voice, "Happy 9/11! Celebrate the day!" is beyond unconscionable. The only thing missing was him calling "Allahu Akbar" and shooting a rifle into the air (maybe he did six years ago). So congratulations to James Brolin, member in good standing of the far-left hate America crowd - who actually seems to take delight in the attack on America that killed 3,000. He has indeed shown himself worthy to be the Insensitive Jerk of the Month for September.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2006, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles