Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 18, 2009 / 29 Elul 5769

Airport Security — Eight Years Later

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Having just passed the eight year mark since the U.S. was attacked by Islamic terrorists I thought it might be fun to review how far the airlines have come in their increased security measures. After all, eight years should be plenty of time to develop a workable plan of action to protect air travelers from the bad guys. So what has changed in eight years?


Well for one thing, you've got to take off your shoes before going through security checks. (As my mother might say, make sure you don't have holes in your socks) Then there are the no-no items that security guards will confiscate from you. Things like toothpaste, hair gel, suntan lotion (if over 3 ounces), gel shoe inserts (sorry Dr. Scholl, no gellin' on the plane), snow globes, and nail files are all prohibited. I never understood why nail files aren't allowed but ball point pens, which can be just as lethal in the wrong hands, are fine and dandy.


And because security guards are not allowed to do "profiling" (which would actually narrow down the ones most likely to commit the crimes) every single person is subjected to pat-downs and searches. Yes, 90 year old ladies and two year old babies can (and have been) put through the same security searches as say, a 23-year old swarthy man who may be loudly chanting in Arabic as he boards. (And because of possibly getting sued, the airline might not even search that guy at all)


Interestingly, while the cabin crews on airlines are put through the same level of scrutiny as are the passengers, the other airport employees such as mechanics, fuelers, caterers, cleaners, and so forth are not. They are subject to occasional random searches, at best. This brings me to the following news story reported just this week:


"SAN JUAN, Puerto Rico, Sept 15 (Reuters) - U.S. anti-drug agents arrested more than 20 people, nine of them employees of American Airlines, in raids to bust a drug trafficking ring between Puerto Rico and the United States, authorities said on Tuesday."


U.S. federal agents and Puerto Rican police swarmed the Luis Munoz Marin International Airport in San Juan to make the arrests. Several ground crew employees of American Airlines are suspected of helping to transport drugs from South America and the Caribbean to the United States, an official said. He said 23 arrest warrants have been issued in cities across the U.S. Caribbean territory and Miami.


So far there are nine employees of American airlines involved in a big drug smuggling ring. Hmmm. That's great. So what happened to all the increased security that the airlines were going to initiate after 9-11? Where's the screening process for potential new hires? I naively thought that all airline and airport employees since 9-11 had to have background checks before they were given jobs. Guess not. See, I have to remove my shoes every time I get on a plane, but in the meantime American Airlines just hires people without checking them out first, eh?


If drug smugglers were able to get jobs as airline workers, it stands to reason that terrorists could too. Why not?


A statement was issued by American Airline following these arrests: "As a company, we hope that the actions of a few employees don't reflect negatively on the tens of thousands of ethical American Airlines employees who work hard to serve the public daily." Gee, thank you, American. It's very comforting to know that the other tens of thousands of your employees are not crooks. Now how about some information on your hiring qualifications? Yeah, I know its only nine guys out of the tens of thousands, but I seem to remember that it took only nineteen terrorists to bring down three planes, the World Trade Center, put a battleship-sized hole in the Pentagon, and change the way 300,000,000 Americans live their lives for all time.


I really hate to single out American Airlines because in my crusty, suspicious, cynical heart I have a feeling that the same permissiveness in screening goes on with all the airlines. American was just the one that got caught today.


You know, I spent most of my life writing jokes and funny stories. I enjoy comedy and I like writing humor, I wish I could do more of it. But every so often real life rears its ugly head and it's just not all that easy to be funny. I've been accused on more than one occasion of being "grumpy." I'm really not a grumpy sort. But when I hear about things like this American Airline drug smuggling deal, well…. let's just say I find it hard to be Dopey or Bashful.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles