Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 11, 2009 / 22 Elul 5769

Water nazis

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Sitting at a game at Dodger Stadium the other evening I admired the beautifully dark green grass on the field. It was a bit startling. I'd forgotten what the true color of grass should be since my lawn at home has taken on a yellow-brown hue. The city of Los Angeles is in a drought and has been for a couple of years now. So being conscientious citizens, my wife and I have tried to curtail our water usage. Okay. The city has stopped restaurants from automatically offering water to their customers. Okay. So, if I really want a glass of water in a restaurant, I'll ask for it. Okay. The city has jacked up water rates. Not so okay. My water bill has skyrocketted even though I actually use less water than I did previously.


Then something new was started this summer and will continue for who knows how long. The city has made it a rule that Mondays and Thursdays are the only two days of the week when residents are allowed to water their lawns - and then for only 15 minutes maximum per section. Anyone caught watering their lawns for longer periods or on other days are subject to stiff fines. That's right, water your flowers on the wrong day, get a fine. You see, we now have water gestapo, or as they're known offically, the Los Angeles Water Conservation Team.


It works like this, first offenders will be issued a warning, second time offenders will be fined $100 and it goes up by $100 increments each time from there. And how will the city water nazis know who is in violation? Do you think they have thousands of these water cops out there patrolling every neighborhood in LA? Of course not. The city area is way too large, it covers about 500 square miles. No, the water cops wouldn't be able to do their jobs without tips from neighbors, so the city has an anonymous hotline and email address for citizens to report their neighbors who may be wasting water to the government authorities. Hmmmm. Sound like any place you might have heard about, like say, Nazi Germany? Or maybe Communist Russa?


"Oh, c'mon Greg, you've gone too far. This thing is only about water!" Oh, really? It may only be about water, but ratting out your neighbors is still ratting out your neighbors. Encouraging citizens to keep track of family and friends and to report violaters to government authorities is creepy. Today it's water, tomorrow who knows what?


The City of Los Angeles is just the latest, local version of a new national "reporting your neighbors" thing. In case you haven't been paying attention, the Obama administration is encouraging people to report anyone who posts information on the internet which is against the Obama healthcare inititave. Think I'm kidding? The following statement is directly, word for word, from the WHITEHOUSE.COM web page:


" There is a lot of disinformation about health insurance reform out there, spanning from control of personal finances to end of life care. These rumors often travel just below the surface via chain emails or through casual conversation. Since we can't keep track of all of them here at the White House, we're asking for your help. If you get an email or see something on the web about health insurance reform that seems fishy, send it to flag@whitehouse.gov."


So in other words, if you see something you don't politically agree with, you need to turn in your neighbor. Report them to the Feds. But it doesn't stop there; citizens who rat on their neighbors can ACTAULLY EARN MONEY! Yep! The government's WeTip program offers cash rewards for anonymous tips about guns, child abuse and suspicious behavior. Informers can earn up to $1000 for each confirmed conviction.


Things to "turn them in" for include drug dealing and theft, but what's really troubling is the more vague examples such as "threats and intimidation" as well as "weapons" and "child abuse." Since when is having a "weapon" in and of itself considered a crime in a country where citizens have the legal right to own firearms? Will your neighbor be turning you in if he sees you loading your car with a rifle on your way to the shooting range? What about "child abuse"? What is considered ''child abuse?" Will your local neighborhood spy be informing the authorities when he sees you disciplining your child?


And think about this, no communication with the White House can ever be deleted, so in all probability, all E-mail messages, blog posts, and other private communications sent to the White House on the proposed government takeover of health care and other matters, will lead to a data bank of names, E-mail and IP addresses. A government "enemies list" to end all enemies lists. Big brother will have your number.


But getting back to the Los Angeles Water Conservation Team, I wonder if these guys will be breaking down LA Mayor Villaraigosa's door anytime soon. I heard on one of our morning radio stations that people have seen the mayor's mansion watering its lawn on many more days than just the allotted Monday and Thursday and for longer periods than the mandatory 15 minutes. Whoops. I guess when you're a celebrity mayor the rules don't apply to you. Maybe he'll be turned in by one of his neighbors.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles