Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 28, 2009 / 8 Elul 5769

It's Back to Robert Hall Again

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | School bells ring and children sing


"It's back to Robert Hall again."
Mother knows for better clothes
It's back to Robert Hall again.
You'll save more on clothes for school
Shop at Robert Hall


I don't know where you grew up, but where I came from we kids knew that when you heard that jingle on radio or TV it meant summertime was over and school was just around the corner. I hated that jingle. I hated having to go back to school. But never the less I looked forward to getting all my new clothes and supplies for the school year. New shoes, a week's worth of new shirts, 3 or 4 new trousers and, best of all, a wonderful brand-new coat.


The feel and smell of the new clothing was heady and although I despised the idea of starting a new school year, I couldn't wait to get dressed that first day in my new duds. In that regard I guess going back to school was kind of a love/hate thing with me. I always enjoyed "new stuff" whether it was clothes or notebooks and pens. I even liked getting the brand-new text books. I liked the way they smelled and crackled when I first opened them (which would probably be the last time I'd open them for that entire school year).


I don't know if kids today have those sensations. Do kids today get new clothes for school anymore? When we got our new clothes in late August, early September, that was it for new clothes for the entire year. I think kids now probably get new stuff all year-long. Buying new clothing was very special for us. We looked forward to going shopping for school clothes. We were excited about it. Do kids think getting new clothing is special anymore? Do they get excited over it? I don't know.


Even though I hated school generally there were things about it that I liked and looked forward to. No, not sports, but there were other non-academic parts of the school curriculum that were of interest to me. Any sort of art was great. I loved to draw and work with colors; I was quite good at it. I enjoyed music too even though I never had any natural gift for it. I loved learning American history through American folk music. Songs like "The Erie Canal," "Make My Living in Sandy Land," "Oh Susanna," "Shenandoah" and so many others have stayed with me throughout my life. Are school children taught these songs anymore?


Academic studies such as mathematics, science, and learning the parts of speech mostly bored the heck out of me. It was just so much gibberish as far as I was concerned. However, I was lucky to have a couple of really good teachers in my life - teachers that made learning interesting. One was a history teacher who told the stories of our country so well that I was instilled with a lifelong interest in it. Another was an English teacher who taught Greek Mythology which I found fascinating. I can't remember if it was that same teacher or another who introduced me to English literature, but I can still remember the excitement in reading Julius Caesar and A Tale of Two Cities for the first time and discussing it in class afterwards.


Do kids learn English literature in grade school anymore? Do they learn American History that isn't tainted with political correctness? Do they learn American history that isn't spun to reflect current attitudes regarding multiculturalism? Are kids taught to love and respect our founding fathers and the story of our wonderful nation as we were taught? Are they learning to love America, to take pride in our country and its grand heritage and culture? How much time is spent in teaching kids to be good American citizens in the traditional sense? Patriotism. Is it encouraged anymore?


I raise these questions, but I know the answer. No, these values are not stressed in our schools anymore.


Robert Hall clothing stores are long gone - having bit the dust around 1977. The catchy little back to school jingle is no more. The store and the jingle were pure Americana. While I feel a tinge of nostalgia for the jingle, the greater loss by far is the lack of teaching pro-American culture in our public schools.


Teaching patriotism and American history has been, for the most part, tossed out along with the back to school jingle many years ago.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles