Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 17, 2007 / 3 Elul 5767

Mid-August musings

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Some various and random thoughts from the far-reaching corners of my mind. (And if that doesn't sound like a lyric from a song out of the late sixties I don't know what does.)


Random thought number one: In a desperate attempt to find something remotely entertaining to watch on television the other evening, we stumbled onto a PBS program featuring pop singers from the 50's. This wasn't the usual Doo-Wop rock and roll stuff that they broadcast from time to time, this show was all about the early fifties popular tunes that were hits during that brief pre-rock period. Songs like "Wheel of Fortune," Shrimp Boats," Moonlight in Vermont," "There's a Valley," "Harbor Lights," "Mona Lisa," and "Smoke Gets in Your Eyes" were some examples.


Singers like Patti Page, Andy Williams, Kay Starr, Ed Ames, Tony Martin, Margaret Whiting, Jerry Vale, and others reprised their hits from more than fifty years ago. Additionally, there were film clips of others such as Rosemary Clooney singing "Hey, There" and Peggy Lee doing her great "Fever." It was a pretty good show, interrupted of course by the obligatory "pledge breaks" which seemed to last upwards of ten to fifteen minutes each.


"If you are enjoying this wonderful show highlighting the great music of yesteryear, and if you want to be sure that more shows like this one continue to be broadcast in the future, then you need to pick up the phone and make a generous pledge to PBS now!" So goes the spiel designed to appeal to all those folks who love the "good ol' music" and the "good ol' singers" back in the "good ol' days." It's a spiel meant to tap into the nostalgic, conservative tastes of an older generation.


There's only one problem, PBS broadcasts shows like that ONLY during their pledge periods. You NEVER see those shows in a normal time slot without the ten to fifteen minute pledge breaks. For the rest of the year, PBS specializes in a preponderance of progressive, liberal-leaning programming like Bill Moyers. Interesting isn't it, how the network will appeal to the conservative, traditional values of the "How Much is That Doggie in the Window" crowd for donations, but on a daily basis they will televise shows which celebrate decidedly non-traditional social agendas like multiculturalism, pro-gay lifestyles, New-Age living, and revisionist history.


Random thought number two: I wish there was something that could be done about the rampant misuse of the term "guys" which is thrown around far too frequently these days. I walk into a restaurant with my wife and even though we'd never been in the place before, the person who shows us to a table will say, "Right this way, guys." Well, I may be a guy but my wife is assuredly not.


"Guys" used to be a slangy, informal term for men, like "gals" was a slangy, informal term for women - now "gal" is never used for a woman, and "guy" has become a term for all living things. Little girls are "guys." Old women are "guys." Dogs and cats are "guys." Fish are "guys." I've even heard it used for flowers and plants and other inanimate objects, for instance, in reference to several potted plants, "Let's move those guys out of the sun and under the awning so their leaves won't burn."


It's all part of the overall informal attitude which permeates society today, and I don't much care for it. Informality by itself isn't all that bad when used in the right place and at the right time, but when a lack of respect accompanies it, which is so often the case, then it becomes yet another chip, chip, chipping away of civilized decency and common courtesy.


Like the 25 year-old health care worker in the doctor's office who calls the 8o year-old patient by his or her first name, to me it denotes a lack of respect much more then any innocent attempt at informal friendliness. Believe it or not, it is actually possible to be friendly and still address a person with respect for their age and station in life. Yes, a distinction should be made between a five year-old and an 85 year-old. They should not be considered just a couple of "guys."


Random thought number three: I've long ago come to the realization that I am much more comfortable with things that are dead. I prefer the dead writers to the writers of today, the dead singers, the dead musicians, the dead actors, the dead presidents, and the dead artists are all preferable to me than are the people who do these things today.


Although there are a couple of exceptions, the books written by writers long dead say more to me than most of the books produced by contemporary writers. The movies produced by dead directors, producers and writers have more to offer me than those released to multiplexes in 2007. And the paintings, sculpture, and architecture of those dead masters are far and away better to me than anything being done now.


I like the dead values, ethics, and manners of those who lived before me. The decency and courtesy so commonplace in yesteryear and so dead today. I find the past a much kinder place. A place that, for whatever reason, I feel closer to than the culture I see around me today. I would definitely, for example, be much more comfortable walking into a nightclub in 1945 than I would walking into a nightclub in 2007. I would be happier with the music, the ambience, the food, the wait staff, and the dress of the patrons than I would anywhere in town now.


I prefer the dead department stores to the big box stores of today. They had class. They had service. They had a better merchandise mix than the made in China rags you see at all the stores now. What I wouldn't give to walk down the street and turn into an I. Magnum or Bullocks Wilshire of about forty years ago.


And the people. The people were brought up differently. Values were taught and honored. People had class. Elegance. Refinement. Music had melody. Real talent was rewarded. Things were cleaner, or at least looked cleaner. Beauty in art. Gentleness in behavior. Consideration for others. Humbleness. Responsibility. Manners. Civilized deportment. Respecting others' property. Discriminating, in the true sense of the word. I could go onů. These are just some of the dead values of long ago.


This is why I say I prefer to be among the dead - not that I want to be dead, it's not that at all. It's just that the dead, when they were alive, had it all over the living today.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2006, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles