Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 10, 2007 / 26 Menachem-Av 5767

40,000 Year-old Baby

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Have you heard the one about the 40,000 year-old baby mammoth that was discovered in Russia? Even though this sounds like the beginning of a Jay Leno joke it is actually true — at least as reported by the Reuters news agency on Wednesday, July 11th. The story said that a baby mammoth had been uncovered, preserved in the Russian permafrost in the Artic Yamalo-Nenetsk region. The species has been extinct since the Ice Age, but a reindeer hunter found her carcass in perfect condition sticking out of the snow. No kidding.


Alexie Tikhonov, deputy director of the Russian Academy of Science's Zoological Institute, said, "It's a lovely little baby mammoth indeed, found in perfect condition. This specimen may provide unique material allowing us to ultimately decipher the genetic makeup of the mammoth." Tikhonov has been taking care of the mammoth since it was uncovered in May.


The mammoth is a six-month old female and now she even has a name. They're calling her "Lyuba" after the wife of reindeer breeder and hunter Yuri Khudi who found her. Weighing 50 kg (110 lb), and measuring 85 centimeters high and 130 centimeters from trunk to tail, Lyuba is roughly the same size as a large dog.


Tikhonov said the fact the mammoth was so remarkably well-preserved — its shaggy coat was gone but otherwise it looked as though it had only recently died — meant it was a potential treasure trove for scientists. "Such a unique skin condition protects all the internal organs from modern microbes and micro-organisms ... In terms of its future genetic, molecular and microbiological studies, this is just an unprecedented specimen."


Eventually Lyuba will be will shipped to the Zoological Museum in St Petersburg where she will join a male baby mammoth called Dima who was unearthed in Magadan in Russia's Far East in 1977 and until now was Russia's best-known example of the species. "They will make a nice couple, both roughly aged 40,000 years," Tikhonov said. Isn't that nice? Talk about an icy romance. A match made in Siberia.


But, now don't cry, there will be a brief separation of the couple. From St Petersburg, Lyuba will go to Jikei University in Japan to undergo three-dimensional computer mapping of her body. The mammoth will then return to St Petersburg for an autopsy before being put on display in Salekhard.


On the one hand I realize this find can be enormously beneficial for scientific study. Intellectually I get it. On the other hand, it bothers me a bit that a creature that has been buried for 40,000 years in a frozen state that has allowed it to retain much of it's original form has now been uncovered and will undoubtedly begin to slowly decompose. Yes, they will do whatever they can, use the latest technology available in an effort to retard decomposition, but the reality is, the mammoth will not be preserved as well as it was when it was frozen beneath centuries of ice. And that's too bad.


I feel the same way whenever I read about archeologists digging up some ancient grave sites. I don't care that the graves are 2,000 years old — leave them alone! Is there a time limit on how long a person's grave is allowed to remain untouched? Why is it okay to dig up a body from 300B.C. but it is forbidden to dig up a body from 1903? Is it because there is less of a physical body there? Is it because all immediate family members have also died, so now it's fine to pull it out? Has enough time passed so that a person's grave is no longer considered sacred ground? If it's sacred now, why won't it be sacred three hundred years from now?


This probably falls into the category of "Don't Mess with Other People's Stuff," of which I am a firm believer. My home is my home, you don't have a right to walk in without permission and just start going through the closets and dresser drawers. You don't have the right to hotwire my car and take it for a little drive along the coast. You don't have the right to take my money, or my clothes, or my pet, or my wife. And you don't have the right to dig me up after I'm dead and go through my remains.


There can be extenuating circumstances of course, like if I'm selling dope to preschoolers or something, in that case the authorities can, and should, go through my house, go through my things, go through my car, arrest me and put me away forever. But some guy who doesn't even know me has no right to just, out of a clear blue sky, take my stuff away from me (like some Democrat politicians would love to do). It's not fair. It's not right.


But will the rest of the world listen to me? — No. It will carry on just as it always has. It will dig up that poor little 40,000 year-old mammoth, dissect her, study her, ship her around the globe, put her on display, expose her for all the world to see, spend a fortune on publicity, E-mail her photo across the internet, and do unending stories on her in the media but remember one thing, all that could happen to YOU, too. If you don't believe me just ask Paris Hilton.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2006, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles