Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 24, 2007 / 9 Menachem-Av 5767

The Doldrums — Singular or Plural?

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | We have now officially entered the time of year that many refer to as the "mid-summer doldrums." Sometimes the most interesting and thought provoking things enter my mind during these mid-summer doldrums. Sometimes not. You be the judge. My first thought is, is the word "doldrums" singular or plural? It sounds plural to me. So if it is plural, then is it possible to have a singular "doldrum?" And if not, why not? This is my doldrums dilemma.


And speaking of doldrums, another thing that has occurred to me is that the entire country will be so fed up with politics by the time the next presidential election gets here, it will surprise me if anyone at all besides the actually candidates will be voting. I'm so sick of the "poll numbers" and really, none of it means anything anyway. Polls change almost daily and the answers people give depends greatly on how the questions are phrased. Polls are an unscientific, unreliable indicator at best and a stupid waste of time at worst.


A generation or two ago no one would have believed the extent that tattooing and body piercing would become acceptable fashion statements in American society. I recently read that as much as 50% of the entire American population between the ages of 17 and 30 has at least one tattoo or piercing (in a place other than an earlobe). It is not uncommon to see young girls with multiple tattoos on their arms, necks, legs, and backs. So what's next?


I wonder if young teen girls will ever start growing thick facial hair. It can be done if they begin shaving their peach fuzz on a regular basis. Hey, why shouldn't a woman grow a nice handlebar mustache if she wants to? Or even a full beard. It's about the only thing left for progressive young women to do that has not yet been done — at least not widely. There used to be sideshows in the circuses and carnivals that would feature "a bearded lady," but before you laugh that off, remember — those same sideshows featured "tattooed ladies" and "illustrated men" as freaks too, and now they are more commonplace in our society than men wearing suits and women wearing dresses.


Have you noticed how up-close and personal television commercials have become? The ads for prescription and non-prescription medications seem to be the worst. Personal hygiene products that are hawked as helping with itches, odors, and fungus, as well as drugs to remedy various sorts of digestive maladies and bodily function difficulties are all over the airways at all times of the day and night. What used to be the most private of issues are now screamed across the TV sets of America at full volume.


Using the most descriptive visuals and vulgar language possible to explain their products' function and the physical results one might expect from using their supposed wonder drug, the ads go way beyond the perimeters of decent commercial advertising. These advertisers obviously have no respect for their prospective customers and clearly no conception of propriety as far as what constitutes good taste and good judgment on the public airways. I reach for my remote and switch channels as fast as I can when these classless, repulsive ads come on. And by the way — why would I trust companies with my physical health who happily engage in the continual coarsening of our culture?


I'd gladly share some examples of these ads with you, but they are literally too embarrassing and disgusting to print in this column. Anyone who watches television for any length of time, however, will know exactly what I mean. It's like being spat upon; you can't mistake what it is. How pitiful that we have come to this.


It's the middle of summer now and that means only one thing — the big news, once again, is THE HEAT! Yes, the whole country is experiencing high temperatures, from New York to Oregon. There are no snowstorms in the forecast, no freezing rain, no icy roads. California is hot. Nevada is hot. Georgia is hot. North, south, east, and west — all hot. Can someone tell me why this is NEWS? We go through this warming thing every single summer. Hey! IT'S SUMMERTIME! IT'S GONNA BE HOT!! GET OVER IT!! Summer is usually hot, winter is usually cold, nighttime is usually dark, and daytime is usually light. Until these things change drastically, I really don't see a need for panic, okay?


Have a great week and stay cool.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2006, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles