Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 10, 2009 / 18 Tamuz 5769

A Swingin' Discovery

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Life is full of little surprises and sometimes those little surprises can be delightful. One came my way recently when I was listening to an internet jazz radio station. The host, a fellow by the name of Denny Farrell, was at a live swing music event and was interviewing the musicians - two brothers by the name of Midiri. Then I heard the Midiri brothers play and I became an immediate fan. As Louis Armstrong might have said, man, these cats sure do swing!


For those of us who love swing and big band jazz, finding these guys is like manna from heaven. They play in the Benny Goodman style, using charts right from the era. To listen to them you'd think they must have been playing with the Big Bands, but no, they are relatively young, probably in their early 40's. I checked into they're web site: MidiriBros.com and found out more info.


The brothers are New Jersey boys, Joe and Paul. Joe plays clarinet and saxophones and Paul plays the vibraphone, xylophone, marimba, drums and trombone. The Midiri Brothers play not only jazz, but classical music. They have been playing since graduating Glassboro State College in the mid 1980's and can be heard leading groups ranging from trios, quintets, sextets and big bands all featuring Joe's outstanding clarinet.


Initially performing only on the east coast, the boys finally branched out and made their west coast debut in 2002 and now perform at many west coast jazz festivals throughout the year. These include Mammoth Lakes Jazz Festival, Monterey Jazz Festival, The Pismo Jubilee By The Sea Jazz Fest, Redwood Coast Music Fest, and Sun Valley Swing-n-Dixie Jazz Jubilee. The Midiris also perform in jazz clubs on a regular basis from Chicago to Florida. They continue to play concerts and dances in their home state of New Jersey. Their big band features many of the arrangements of Benny Goodman, Artie Shaw and the Dorsey Brothers as well as many of their own arrangements.


They have had major articles written about them in both The Mississippi Rag and The American Rag, both respected jazz news papers. The L.A. Jazz Magazine stated "Catch them whenever you can!" as well as "their sextet is one of the most exciting small group swing units around today." Bob Fallstrom wrote in the Herald-Review, "I've seen and heard hundreds of clarinet players. Joe Midiri is the best. …I've seen every Joe Midiri set here, enthralled by his tone, his technique, his creativity, his imagination and sound."


And I totally concur with Mr. Fallstrom. I own quite a lot of Benny Goodman, Artie Shaw and Dorsey recordings, I listen to them frequently and I can tell you the Midiri Brothers are right up there with the greats. Beyond being good musicians, they have that certain indescribable something in their soul, a feeling, an innate sensitivity to the style of swing. It may sound corny, but it's what separates the mediocre from the great.


I caught a glimpse of them on YouTube and let me tell you, as good as they sound, watching them perform is even better! The next time they're out in California I plan to see them in person, which will probably mean the Pismo Beach Jubilee By The Sea in October. In the meantime I'll have to be content ordering up a couple of their albums. They have about seven or eight recorded which are all available off their web site.


It is such a pleasure to discover real musical talent is still around and being performed and appreciated in America in 2009. With all the junk we are exposed to on a daily basis, with all the ugly noise we're assaulted with from TV, movies, shopping malls, almost everywhere we go, who'd a-thunk that a couple of New Jersey guys are still swingin' beautifully at gigs from coast to coast. Thank you, Midiri Brothers for keeping swing music alive and well a little longer.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles